NCAA cross country championships: Colorado men repeat as champions

Ken Moreland


Pac-12 men sure clean up nice: The Conference of Champions claimed both the NCAA team and individual titles Saturday in Terre Haute, Indiana, and both were repeat champions to boot. Colorado eked out a back-to-back championship and the program's fifth team title with 65 points over Stanford's second-place 98 points. Oregon sophomore Edward Cheserek flew to his second individual championship in as many years with a time of 30:19.4, just strides ahead of teammate Eric Jenkins, who finished second at 30:23.2. 

[Related: 2014 NCAA cross country championships men's results (]

Six Pac-12 runners finished in the top 10: Oregon's Cheserek (1) and Jenkins (2), Stanford's Maksim Korolev (4), and Colorado's Ammar Moussa (5), Ben Saarel (7) and Blake Theroux (9).
The Oregon men closed out at sixth, while UCLA finished 18th and Washington finished 20th. The Pac-12 now has 470 NCAA team titles.


Arizona State senior Shelby Houlihan turned in the Pac-12's highest finish at ninth place with a time of 20:11.4. The 2014 Pac-12 individual champion and NCAA west regional champion crossed the finish line about 30 seconds behind NCAA champion Kate Avery of Iona (19:31.6). Stanford freshman Elise Cranny clocked in at 20:17.0 to finish 12th overall. California's Bethan Knights (20:30.0) and Washington's Maddie Meyers (20:32.6) rounded out the top 30 at 25th and 27th.

[Related: 2014 NCAA cross country championships women's results (]

The Oregon women finished sixth as a team, followed by Colorado at seventh. Stanford, Washington and UCLA ended up at 14th, 23rd and 27th, respectively.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder