Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

UCLA's Dave Meyers to Be Inducted Into Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Jan 14, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO – Former UCLA standout Dave Meyers will be inducted into the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Hall of Honor on Saturday, March 14, during a ceremony prior to the championship game of the 2015 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Joining Meyers in this year’s induction class includes Fred Snowden (Arizona), Ron Riley (Arizona State), Sean Lampley (California), Jim Davis (Colorado), Anthony Taylor (Oregon), Jim Jarvis (Oregon State), Casey Jacobsen (Stanford), Alex Hannum (USC), Danny Vranes (Utah), Jon Brockman (Washington) and Bennie Seltzer (Washington State).

A three-year letterwinner at UCLA (1973-1975), Meyers helped lead the Bruins to NCAA championships in 1973 and 1975. The two-year frontcourt starter at UCLA averaged 11.8 points in 89 career games, ranking No. 14 on UCLA’s all-time scoring list with 1,046 career points.

Meyers, a 6-foot-8 forward, helped UCLA post a perfect 30-0 record in the 1972-73 campaign en route to winning the NCAA title that season. As a junior in 1973-74, Meyers averaged 11.4 points per game in all 30 contests as UCLA finished third at the NCAA Tournament. Meyers and UCLA responded the following season with a 28-3 overall record and the program’s 10th NCAA title, which was also head coach John Wooden’s final team.

Meyers earned consensus first-team All-America honors and all-conference acclaim after averaging 18.3 points per game as a senior. Following his UCLA career, he was selected No. 2 in the 1975 NBA Draft by the Los Angeles Lakers, making him one of just six UCLA players to have been chosen No. 1 or No. 2 overall in the NBA Draft. He played four seasons in the NBA for the Milwaukee Bucks before choosing to retire in 1980.