Eight Pac-12 players named to 2015 Golden Spikes Award watch list

Pac-12 Content Image

With the start of college baseball season just four days away, a group of Pac-12 players are on the watch list for the sport's highest honor.

[Related: Complete 2015 Pac-12 baseball schedule]

Eight Pac-12 players were named Tuesday to the 2015 Golden Spikes Award watch list, which is given annually to the nation's top college baseball player.

Included on the list of 50 watch listers are:

  • David Berg, pitcher, UCLA
  • Shaun Chase, catcher, Oregon
  • Tyler Davis, pitcher, Washington
  • James Kaprielian, pitcher, UCLA
  • Brett Lilek, pitcher, Arizona State
  • Andrew Moore, pitcher, Oregon State
  • Kevin Newman, shortstop, Arizona
  • Cal Quantrill, pitcher, Stanford

Oregon State standout and New York Mets draftee Michael Conforto was a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award in 2014. The Pac-12 boasts seven all-time Golden Spikes winners, the most recent of which was UCLA's Trevor Bauer in 2011. 

Tim Lincecum (Washington, 2005), Mark Prior (USC, 2001), Mike Kelly (Arizona State, 1991), Oddibe McDowell (Arizona State, 1984), Terry Francona (Arizona, 1980) and Bob Horner (Arizona State, 1978) are the other Pac-12 players to win the award.

The full Golden Spikes Award watch list is at usabaseball.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network