2015 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships

March 1 | Corvallis, OR
LIVE TV: 5 PM PT on Pac-12 Networks

Oregon State hosts 2015 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships

Download Complete Release (PDF)

The 53rd-annual Pac-12 Wrestling Championships will be held on Sunday, March 1 at Gill Coliseum, hosted by Oregon State University. All six teams bring a wealth of tough competition to the table, with host OREGON STATE ranked in the top 25 and at least one Pac-12 wrestler ranked in the top 20 for all but three weight classes. 

The 19th-ranked Beavers look to defend their third-straight league championship, with four ranked wrestlers, home mat advantage, and an unblemished Pac-12 record heading into the Championships. STANFORD returns two Pac-12 Champions from a year ago in search of a Conference title, while ARIZONA STATE looks for its first league title since 2006. BOISE STATE brings in some fresh talent with a top-10 ranked freshman, while CAL POLY has two freshmen with 20 or more wins on the season, and CSU BAKERSFIELD brings its top talent to make up for the injury of a Pac-12 Champion from 2014. The championship rounds, which begin at 5 p.m. PT, will be televised live on Pac-12 Networks. 

ARIZONA STATE (8-7, 3-2 Pac-12)
The Sun Devils look to bounce back from a Pac-12 title drought, with their last Championship coming in 2006. Arizona State’s squad is anchored by Blake Stauffer, who has a 28-1 record at 184 pounds in his junior campaign, which includes a 21-match win streak and three tournament wins. ASU also has redshirt freshman Christian Pagdilao, who is ranked 13th at 149 pounds with an 18-3 overall record. 

BOISE STATE (3-9, 1-5 Pac-12)
The Broncos have a wealth of new talent, including freshman Geordan Martinez, who is ranked 6th at 141 pounds with a 24-5 record, and Carson Kuhn, a redshirt freshman with two victories over top-25 opponents. Redshirt senior Steven Hernandez will also be a force for Boise State with a 20-6 record at 157 pounds. 

CAL POLY (3-15, 1-4 Pac-12)
The Mustangs are another team with prominent young talent, as freshman Nick Fiegener (184) and redshirt freshman Colton Schilling (141) both have 20 wins on the season and look to improve their records at the Pac-12 Championships. Cal Poly will also have veteran experience in senior Dominic Kastl, the 2012 Pac-12 Champion at 165 pounds who is currently wrestling at 174 with a 15-5 record. 

CSU BAKERSFIELD (7-5, 1-4 Pac-12)
The Runners will be without Bryce Hammond, the two-time Pac-12 Champion at 174 pounds and an All-American. Pacing CSU Bakersfield in his absence will be Ian Nickell, who shifted down to 133 pounds this year and has a 20-8 overall record, as well as Adam Fierro, who holds a 16-8 record at 165 pounds this season. 

OREGON STATE (12-1, 6-0 Pac-12) 
The Beavers captured their third-straight Pac-12 Championship last year, accomplishing the feat for the first time since Arizona State won six straight from 1985-91. With four wrestlers ranked and the home advantage, Oregon State looks to extend its streak for four-straight Conference titles. Six of OSU’s 10 starters are freshmen, including 13th-ranked Ronnie Bresser at 125 pounds, and 20th-ranked Cody Crawford at 197 pounds. Seniors Taylor Meeks and Joe Latham look for their second-straight NCAA qualifications. 

STANFORD (11-4, 4-1 Pac-12) 
The Cardinal return two Pac-12 champions from last year in Evan Silver at 125 pounds and Jim Wilson at 165 pounds. Silver is the current career leader in wins with 64, followed closely by Wilson with 63. Wilson is also ranked in the Intermat Top 20 at No. 14 in the 165 class. Stanford also has some top new talent, including redshirt freshman Nathan Butler, who holds a 26-7 overall record at the heavyweight class. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder