This year in Pac-12 wrestling

SAN FRANCISCO - OREGON STATE successfully defended its championship, winning its fourth-consecutive Pac-12 title in a year where 24 Pac-12 wrestlers earned berths to the NCAA Championships. The Beavers led the national field with seven student-athletes in the NCAA championship bracket, while ARIZONA STATE had six qualifiers, STANFORD had five, and BOISE STATE, CAL POLY and CSU BAKERSFIELD had two apiece. 

Pac-12 Wrestler of the Year Blake Stauffer finished fourth overall in the 184 class, becoming the first All-American for Arizona State since 2011. Stanford’s Jim Wilson placed eighth in the 165 class, the first All-American for Stanford since 2012. Pac-12 Wrestling Freshman/Newcomer of the Year Geordan Martinez of Boise State was just one victory shy of All-America status at 141. Oregon State seniors Alex Elder, Joe Latham and Taylor Meeks were also one win short of placing at the national meet, with Elder at 157, Latham at 174 and Meeks at 184. 

The Beavers were dominant at the Pac-12 Championships, winning five individual titles with eight wrestlers in championship bouts. Senior Beaver Latham earned Outstanding Wrestler of the Meet accolades. Head coach Jim Zalesky was named Pac-12 Wrestling Coach of the Year for the fifth time in the past six seasons, as the Beavers claimed their sixth Conference title in Zalesky’s nine years at the helm. Martinez posted two upsets to claim the Pac-12 title at 141, while Arizona State had two individual titles with Christian Pagdilao winning at 149 and Stauffer winning at 184. Stanford also had a pair of individual titles as Wilson won the 165 class and Nathan Butler won the heavyweight class.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder