Four Pac-12 teams qualify for NCAA women's water polo championships

UCLA Athletics

In the 14 years since the NCAA starting holding a women's water polo championship, nobody from outside the Conference of Champions has taken home the title.

In 2015, four teams will look to continue that trend.

UCLA, USC, Stanford and California all earned bids to the NCAA women's water polo championships, the NCAA announced Monday. Competition in the 10-team tournament will begin Friday, May 8 at the Avery Aquatic Center at Stanford.

The league is led by national No. 2 UCLA, who captured the 2015 MPSF championship this past weekend in a 9-8 win over California. The Bruins, who are seeking the program's 8th national title and first since 2009, will take on the winner of the UCSD/Whittier play-in game in the quarterfinals.

The nation's current No. 1 and defending national champion, Stanford, will begin their quest for their fourth title in five years in a quarterfinal matchup with the winner of a play-in between Princeton and Wagner.

No. 3 USC, who earned 3rd place at the MPSF Championships, will begin their 12th straight trip to the NCAA championships with a quarterfinal matchup with No. 6 Hawaii. In the May 8 finale, No. 4 California will round out quarterfinal play with a date with No. 5 UC Irvine.

The national champion will be crowned on Sunday, May 10. Check out the full bracket at

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder