Eight Pac-12 men's golf teams selected for NCAA regionals

Nathan Howard

SAN FRANCISCO-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2015 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships as eight teams and two individuals will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 14-16.

Six Pac-12 teams earned a seed of No. 3 or better in one of the six regionals, including ARIZONA STATE, which holds the No. 1 seed at the Rancho Santa Fe Region (The Farms Golf Club, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.). Pac-12 champion STANFORD is the No. 2 seed in the Chapel Hill Region (Finley Golf Course, Chapel Hill, N.C.), OREGON is the No. 2 seed in the Noblesville Region (The Sagamore Club, Noblesville, Ind.), and WASHINGTON is the No. 2 seed in the Bremerton Region (Gold Mountain Golf Club, Bremerton, Wash.).

A pair of Pac-12 teams claims the No. 3 seed – UCLA (Noblesville Region) and USC (Bremerton Region). CALIFORNIA is the No. 5 seed at the Lubbock Region (The Rawls Course, Lubbock, Texas), while COLORADO is the No. 9 seed in the Noblesville Region.

Two individuals were at-large selections – ARIZONA freshman George Cunningham (Rancho Santa Fe Region) and OREGON STATE senior Alex Franklin (Bremerton,Wash).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 29-June 3, at the The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. (University of South Florida, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 14 NCAA team titles and produced 17 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted three team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 - UCLA) and six individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL; 2014 – Cameron Wilson, STAN).

NCAA Championships Format
All 30 teams and six individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder