Seven Pac-12 gymnastics teams advance to NCAA Regionals

SAN FRANCISCO – The 2016 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Monday by the NCAA and seven of the eight Pac-12 gymnastics teams were selected to advance to the regionals. All regionals will take place on Saturday, April 2, 2016.

Pac-12 gymnastics teams are spread out across four different sites. Of the seven Pac-12 teams advancing to regionals, six of them are among the top three seeds in their region. 

UTAH is the No. 5 seed overall and will be headlining the Salt Lake City Regional on their home floor in the Huntsman Center. The Utes are the only Pac-12 team that will serve as host this year. Pac-12 Champion UCLA has claimed the No. 8 seed overall and will join UTAH in Salt Lake City, alongside No. 17 WASHINGTON. Southern Utah, Illinois, and Utah State will also compete in the Salt Lake City Regional.

CALIFORNIA is the No. 9 seed overall and will be traveling to Tuscaloosa, Ala. to take on host and No. 4 overall seed Alabama, as well as No. 16 Boise State, Kentucky, West Virginia, and Bowling Green.

The Athens Regional, hosted by No. 10 Georgia, will showcase two Pac-12 teams in No. 15 OREGON STATE and ARIZONA. The top seed in the Athens Regional went to No. 3 LSU, who will also be joined by George Washington and Michigan State.

No. 18 overall seed STANFORD will be the 3-seed in the Ann Arbor Regional where the Cardinal will face off with No. 6 overall seed Auburn and host Michigan, as well as Eastern Michigan, Penn State, and New Hampshire.

In addition to the seven Pac-12 teams that qualified for regionals, ARIZONA STATE’s Allie Salas also qualified as an all-around competitor and will compete in the Tuscaloosa Regional. She’ll be joined by teammates Taylor Allex (vault, floor) and Beka Conrad (beam) who have qualified to compete in individual events.

The top two teams and top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Fort Worth, Tex. April 15-16. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder