14 Pac-12 Tennis Singles Players and 10 Doubles Teams To Compete In NCAA Championships

Pac-12 Content Image
Holly Roberts

Women's Selections | Men's Selections

SAN FRANCISCO - The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Subcommittees selected the 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships. The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 25-30 at the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., following the conclusion of the team championship, which runs from May 19-24. The University of Tulsa will serve as host.

A total of 14 individual players and 10 doubles teams from Pac-12 tennis squads, including seven women’s singles players and seven doubles teams as well as seven men’s singles players and three doubles teams, were selected as automatic qualifiers or at-large selections for the 2016 NCAA Tennis Singles and Doubles Championships. 

The Pac-12 currently owns 44 men’s singles and 56 doubles titles, as well as 18 women’s singles and 19 doubles titles. The league most recently swept both women’s singles and doubles titles in 2013, when STANFORD’s Nicole Gibbs won the singles championship and the USC duo of Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria won doubles. In the men’s tournament, UCLA’s Marcos Giron won the singles title in 2014, while the Pac-12’s last men’s doubles title came in 2008 from USC’s Robert Farah/Kaes Van’t Hof.

For the women, Pac-12 Singles Player of the Year Maegan Manasse of CALIFORNIA earned the automatic singles qualification for the Pac-12. She earned the No. 6 seed overall. Pac-12 student-athletes earning at-large singles selections include: ARIZONA's Lauren Marker; ARIZONA STATE's Desirae Krawczyk; California's Klara Fabikova; Stanford's Taylor Davidson, UCLA's Catherine Harrison and USC's Giuliana Olmos. Caroline Doyle of Stanford is the eighth alternate. Fabikova is part of the seeds No. 9-16 grouping.

The Pac-12's automatic qualifier for women's doubles is the duo of Manasse and Denise Starr of California, the Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year. Other duos that earned at-large bids include: Arizona's Marker/Shayne Austin; Arizona State's Alexandra Osborne/Ebony Panoho; Stanford's Davidson/Doyle, UCLA's Harrison/Kyle McPhillips, USC's Olmos/Gabby Smith and Washington's Miki Kobayashi/Nour Abbes. Manasse and Starr earned the No. 4 seed while Olmos/Smith, Davidson/Doyle and Harrison/McPhillips are part of the seeds No. 5-8 grouping. Stanford's Carol Zhao/Melissa Lord are the No. 2 alternate.

On the men's side, Mackenzie McDonald of UCLA is t he Pac-12's automatic qualifier in the singles tournament for the second-straight year and he earned the No. 6 seed. At-large singles selections include: California's Andre Goransson and Florian Lakat; Stanford's Tom Fawcett; UCLA's Martin Redlicki along with USC's Nick Crystal and Max de Vroome. UCLA's Gage Brymer is the third alternate. Fawcett is grouped in seeds No. 9-16.

The automatic qualifier from the Pac-12 for men's doubles is the duo of McDonald and Redlicki who are seeded second overall.  Other does that earned at-large bids include California's Filip Bergevi/Lakat and Stanford's Maciek Romanowicz/Fawcett.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network