Eight Pac-12 Men's Golf Teams Selected for NCAA Regionals

SAN FRANCISCO-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2016 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships as eight teams will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 16-18.

Six Pac-12 teams earned a seed of No. 4 or better in one of the six regionals, featuring Pac-12 champion STANFORD and USC, which hold No. 1 seeds. The Cardinal are the top seed at the Marana Region (Gallery Golf Club, Marana, Ariz.), while the Trojans hold the top seed in the Albuquerque Region (Championship Course UNM, Albuquerque, N.M.).

Joining Stanford in the Marana Region are No. 3 CALIFORNIA and No. 4 OREGON, while No. 2 ARIZONA STATE joins USC at the Albuquerque Region. WASHINGTON is the No. 4 seed in the Franklin Region (Vanderbilt Legends Club, Franklin, Tenn.). No. 9 UCLA was placed in the Kohler Region (Blackwolf Run Meadow Valleys Course, Kohler, Wis.) and COLORADO rounds out the selection of Pac-12 teams as the No. 11 seed in the Tuscaloosa Region (Ol’ Colony Golf Complex, Tuscaloosa, Ala.).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 27-June 1, at The Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore. (University of Oregon, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 14 NCAA team titles and produced 17 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted three team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 - UCLA) and six individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL; 2014 – Cameron Wilson, STAN).

NCAA Championships Format

All 30 teams and six individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder