Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces multi-year partnership with Fox Sports Australia to televise football, basketball games in Australia

Aug 26, 2016
John D Watkins/Cal Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference and FOX SPORTS Australia announced a multi-year partnership today to televise 13 Pac-12 football and 21 basketball games in Australia annually. In addition, FOX SPORTS Australia will air all episodes of Pac-12 Networks’ “The Drive” for football and men’s basketball. 

Starting this fall, the football games will be part of a Game of the Week package running through the entire Pac-12 season (Sep. 3 – Nov. 26). The basketball games will include both a Game of the Week package starting Dec. 3 and eight games of the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

“We are excited to bring the best of Pac-12 football and basketball to the sports fans in Australia,” said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. “As our universities continue to operate in an ever-changing globalized world, we see great value in distributing our content globally as a way to showcase our academic and athletic excellence.”

The football and basketball Game of the Week packages will be produced by Pac-12 Networks, the conference’s wholly owned media company. FOX SPORTS Australia will televise the games live in Australia and feature encore presentations at consistent times for the Australian audience. In addition, FOX SPORTS AUSTRALIA will showcase the games on Fox Sports’ digital platform.

The partnership represents another step forward for the Pac-12’s Global, an initiative started in 2011 to use sport to promote goodwill and showcase Pac-12 universities around the world. This past summer, the Pac-12 sent an all-star men’s basketball team to Australia to compete against the Australian national team. And this week, the Pac-12’s University of California, Berkeley opens its season in Sydney against Hawaii in the College Football Sydney Cup.

As part of Pac-12 Global, Pac-12 Networks distributes content internationally to more than 200 countries through partnerships with YouTube, EverSport, as well as to China through LeSports.

About the Pac-12 Conference
The Conference has a tradition as the “Conference of Champions,” leading the nation in NCAA Championships in 50 of the last 55 years, with 488 NCAA team titles overall. The Conference comprises 12 leading U.S. universities: The University of Arizona, Arizona State University, the University of California-Berkeley, the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of Colorado, the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Stanford University, the University of Southern California, the University of Utah, the University of Washington and Washington State University. For more information on the Conference’s programs, member institutions, and Commissioner Larry Scott, go to

About Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks is the innovative TV and multimedia company of the Pac-12 Conference, and is the first such company to be wholly owned by 12 universities. Pac-12 Networks incorporates one national and six regional television networks, plus extensive digital content accessible through social media, university websites, and Pac-12 Now, its TV Everywhere service. Each year, Pac-12 Networks offers live coverage of 850 sporting events, making it one of the top live sports producers in the country. In addition, Pac-12 Networks creates extensive original programming, provides visibility for marquee football and basketball events as well as traditionally under-served women’s and Olympic sports. Pac-12 Networks also provides training and paid internships for thousands of students of the Pac-12’s member universities, preparing them for careers in media. With headquarters in San Francisco’s SOMA District, Pac-12 Networks draws on the creative, entrepreneurial, and technological culture of the Bay Area and nearby Silicon Valley. For more information, go to

About FOX SPORTS Australia
FOX SPORTS Australia Pty Limited (FOX SPORTS) is Australia’s leading producer of sports television coverage and is home to Australia’s favourite subscription television sports channels as well as Australia’s number one general sports website. FOX SPORTS is owned by News Corp Australia and is located in a brand-new, purpose-built broadcast facility in Artarmon on Sydney’s north shore, with operations nationwide in Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane. FOX SPORTS compiles and produces the FOX SPORTS 1, FOX SPORTS 2, FOX SPORTS 3, FOX SPORTS 4, FOX SPORTS 5, FOX FOOTY and FOX SPORTS News subscription television channels, available via the Foxtel subscription television platform.