2017 Pac-12 Women's Golf Championships

Event: April 24-26 | Tucson, AZ
Sewailo Golf Club – Casino Del Sol

Arizona’s Zhou named Pac-12 Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year


TUCSON, Ariz. – ARIZONA senior Wanasa Zhou was selected as the Pac-12 Conference Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Wednesday at the conclusion of the 2017 Pac-12 Championships at Sewailo Golf Club.

A native of Melbourne, Australia who is pursuing her undergraduate degree in accounting, Zhou maintains a 3.97 grade-point average as one of two seniors on the No. 14 nationally ranked Wildcats’ roster. A two-time Pac-12 All-Academic First Team member, Zhou earned the NCAA Elite 89 Award for highest GPA among participants at the 2015 NCAA Championships. In 2014, Zhou was named as an Honorable Mention All-Pac-12 selection.

This season, Zhou has competed in six events including this week’s Pac-12 Championships, recording a 74.1 scoring average. She won the Mountain View Collegiate in March, setting an Arizona women's golf record for the lowest 54-hole score at 203 (-13). She also earned a tie for 10th at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate in February.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

ALSO NOMINATED: Monica Vaughn, Arizona State; Lucia Gutierrez, California; Esther Lee, Colorado; Cathleen Santoso, Oregon; Elyse Smidinger, Oregon State; Casey Danielson, Stanford; Victoria Morgan, USC; Cherokee Kim, Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network