Skip to main content

Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year named

Jun 12, 2017

SAN FRANCISCO - OREGON STATE's Max Engelbrekt was named the Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2017 season, the Conference office announced on Monday. The award, which is presented in each of the 23 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline. 

Since the award's inception in 2008, Engelbrekt is the first Beaver to garner the recognition in baseball. The graduate student from Seattle, Wash. has been outstanding in the classroom at Oregon State, boasting a 3.63 GPA while getting his Master of Business Administration. Max earned his degree in Finance with a GPA of 3.41 in the summer of 2016. He has played in 80 career games. He was a 2016 Second-Team Pac-12 All-Academic selection and a 2017 First-Team Pac-12 All-Academic selection.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 23 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

Also Nominated: Louis Boyd, ARIZ; Zach Cerbo, ASU; Jake Bennett, ORE; Alex Dunlap, STAN; Scott Burke, UCLA; Corey Dempster, USC; Dallas Carroll, UTAH; Jack Meggs, WASH; Trenton Dupte, WSU.