Eight Pac-12 Men’s Golf Teams Selected for NCAA Regionals

SAN FRANCISCO-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2018 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships as eight teams will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 14-16.

CALIFORNIA earned a No. 2 seed in the Raleigh Region (Lonnie Poole Golf Course, Raleigh, N.C.) and will be joined by No. 4 ARIZONA STATE. STANFORD earned the No. 3 seed in the Stockton Region (The Reserve at Spanos Park, Stockton, Calif.) and will be joined by Pac-12 Champion and No. 4 seed USC, No. 5 seed OREGON and No. 7 seed COLORADO. UCLA was tabbed the No. 5 seed in the Bryan Region (The Traditions Club, Bryan, Texas), while ARIZONA locks up the No. 6 seed in the Kissimmee Region (Reunion Resort, Kissimmee, Fla.).

Three individuals earned at-large berths to compete in the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships – WASHINGTON teammates Carl Yuan and Henry Lee, and UTAH’s Blake Tomlinson. All three will compete in the Stockton Region.

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 25-May 30, at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla. (Oklahoma State, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 15 NCAA team titles and produced 18 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted four team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 – UCLA; 2016 –Oregon) and seven individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL; 2014 – Cameron Wilson, STAN; 2016 – Aaron Wise, ORE).

NCAA Championships Format
All 30 teams and six individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match-play competition and the 72-hole stroke-play individual champion. The top eight teams after 72 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed versus the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed versus the No. 6 seed, and the No. 4 seed versus the No. 5 seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder