Skip to main content

This year in Pac-12 Women's Lacrosse

Jun 4, 2018


SAN FRANCISCO - In the inaugural season of Pac-12 Lacrosse, two teams advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Pac-12 regular season champion COLORADO and Pac-12 Tournament champion STANFORD made it to the second and first round of the tournament, respectively.

Colorado clinched the first-ever Pac-12 regular season title in the second-to-last weekend of the season after defeating Stanford (11-10) in overtime to break the tie for first in the Conference standings. In just its fifth year of existence, the Buffs solidified a No. 1 seed in the inaugural Pac-12 Tournament by defeating Oregon in the final weekend of play. CU was led by senior Darby Kiernan, a five-time Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week, including claiming the last three-straight from Apr. 9-Apr. 23. She also picked up an IWLCA Offensive Player of the Week nod on April 18.

In the inaugural championship game, No. 2-seed Stanford defeated regular season champion Colorado to become the first-ever Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Tournament Champion. The Cardinal dominated offensively in the championship game, coming out strong in the first half to build a strong lead that continued through the remainder of the game. Stanford’s offensive change led to a 15-6 win. With the win, the Cardinal received the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

Two Pac-12 teams earned bids to the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Tournament. Stanford earned the league’s automatic bid, while Colorado earned an at-large bid.

The Buffs defeated Jacksonville in the first round (23-18), but the Cardinal were defeated by Virginia (12-3). Colorado advanced to the second round to face Florida, but was bested, 13-9.

In the final IWLCA poll, three teams are ranked. Colorado comes in at No. 14, Stanford is No. 16 and USC is No. 24.

The Pac-12 Conference named the recipients of the inaugural Pac-12 women’s lacrosse awards, as voted on by the league coaches. Stanford’s Kelsey Murray was named the Attacker of the Year after being selected the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. USC’s Kerrigan Miller was voted the Midfielder of the Year. Colorado’s Sarah Brown was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year and Stanford’s Ali Baiocco was selected the Freshman of the Year. Colorado’s Ann Elliott is the Coach of the Year. The inaugural All-Pac-12 teams were also announced.