Stanford’s Fox named Pac-12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO – STANFORD’s Paul Fox was named the Pac-12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2018-19 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Fox, who hails from Gilroy, Calif., becomes the seventh Cardinal to be named Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for wrestling. He carries a 3.41 grade point average as a Science, Technology & Society major. A three-time NWCA Academic All-America selection and a 2017 All-American (157 pounds), Fox has posted a 20-8 record this season and took top honors at the Reno Tournament of Champions. His career record stands at 94-40.

Fox and his fellow Cardinal will compete at the Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Saturday at Arizona State’s Wells Fargo Arena. The early rounds of competition will be carried via live-stream on Pac-12 Now and starting at 11:00 a.m. PT. Pac-12 Networks will cover the championship round live, starting at 6 p.m. PT. Tickets to attend the event are available at or by calling 480-727-0000.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year

Also Nominated: Christian Pagdilao, Arizona State (3.44, Science of Health Care Delivery); Sean Nickell, Cal State Bakersfield (3.06, Computer Science).

Previous Wrestling Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Year                     Scholar-Athlete                          School
2018-19              Paul Fox                                   Stanford
2017-18              Nathan Butler                           Stanford
2016-17              Peter Galli                                 Stanford
2015-16              Ian Nickell                                CSU Bakersfield
2014-15              Chace Eskam                             Arizona State
2013-14              Dalton Kelly                              CSU Bakersfield
2012-13              Jake Meredith                            Arizona State
2011-12              Nick Amuchastegui                    Stanford
2010-11              Adam Hall                                 Stanford
2009-10              Jake Johnson                             Stanford
2008-09              Thomas Kimbrell                       CSU Bakersfield
2007-08              Tanner Gardner                         Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network