Skip to main content

Simon, Crawford Win NBA Title With Los Angeles Lakers

Oct 12, 2020

TUCSON, Ariz. – Former Arizona players Miles Simon and Quinton Crawford, both assistant coaches with the Los Angeles Lakers, helped guide the Lakers to their 17th NBA Championship on Sunday night with a domination win over the Miami Heat and former 'Cats Andre Iguodala and Solomon Hill in Orlando.
It marks the 27th and 28th time that former Arizona players have gone on to win the NBA Championship as a coach or player. It's also the first NBA title for both Simon and Crawford.
Arizona has a player or coach competing in the NBA Finals for the sixth straight season and had someone come away with a ring in five of the last six seasons.
Simon played for the Wildcats from 1994-98 and was named Most Outstanding Player of the 1997 Final Four when Arizona captured the National Championship.

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Miles Simon (@milessimon34) on

Crawford was a walk-on for the 'Cats for two seasons (2011-12, 2012-13), appearing in nine games as Arizona advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA tournament in 2013.
NBA Championships (28)
1996       Steve Kerr, Jud Buechler (Chicago)
1997       Steve Kerr, Jud Buechler, Brian Williams (Chicago)
1998       Steve Kerr, Jud Buechler (Chicago)
1999       Steve Kerr, Sean Elliott (San Antonio)
2003       Stever Kerr (San Antonio)
2009       Luke Walton (LA Lakers)
2010       Luke Walton (LA Lakers)
2011       Jason Terry (Dallas)
2015       Andre Iguodala, Steve Kerr*, Luke Walton*, Bruce Fraser* (Golden State)
2016       Channing Frye, Richard Jefferson, Brett Brielmaier* (Cleveland)
2017       Andre Iguodala, Steve Kerr*, Bruce Fraser* (Golden State)
2018       Andre Iguodala, Steve Kerr*, Bruce Fraser* (Golden State)
2020       Miles Simon*, Quinton Crawford* (Los Angeles Lakers)
*Indicates member of coaching staff