Skip to main content

Volleyball Named 14 Seed for the NCAA Tournament

Apr 4, 2021

SALT LAKE CITY - The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced the 48-team field that will compete in the 2020 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. The University of Utah was named the 14 seed and will get a first-round bye.
The top 16 teams seeded nationally will receive a first-round bye for this year's 48- team bracket. Teams from the same conference were not paired during first- and second-round competition.
Utah will take on the winner of LIU and Pittsburgh in the first round to potentially play Minnesota in the regional semifinal on April 18. This will be Utah's fifth straight appearance and 17th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament. This will be the third time Utah has been named a national seed.

The Utes finished the regular season in third place in the Pac-12 with a 13-4 record overall. 
This year is a little unique in all 48 teams participating in the championship will travel to Omaha, Nebraska, where all rounds of the tournament will be played April 14-24 at the CHI Health Center Omaha Convention Center and Arena, hosted by the University of Nebraska and MECA. First- and second-round matches will be played April 14 and 15, and regional semifinals will be played April 18, at the convention center. Regional finals will take place on April 19 at the arena.
The regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final hosted on April 22 and 24 at the CHI Health Center Omaha arena. The national semifinal matches and championship match will broadcast on ESPN2. All matches will be streamed on various ESPN networks.
For more Utah volleyball coverage, check as well as @UtahVolleyball on Twitter or Instagram.