Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces 2021 men’s swimming & diving postseason awards

Apr 5, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced the recipients of the 2021 Pac-12 Men’s Swimming and Diving awards, as voted on by the league coaches. After winning the 2021 Pac-12 Championships, CALIFORNIA swept the Pac-12 Swimming postseason honors as Ryan Hoffer was voted Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year, teammate Destin Lasco was tabbed Freshman of the Year and head coach David Durden, who led the Bears to their eighth all-time Pac-12 Championships victory, earned his fourth consecutive and 10th all-time Coach of the Year honor. UTAH’S Luke McDivitt was named Pac-12 Diver of the Year and Richard Marschner was voted Pac-12 Diving Coach of the Year, while STANFORD’s Hunter Hollenbeck earned Pac-12 Freshman Diver of the Year.

MEN'S SWIMMER OF THE YEAR: Ryan Hoffer, Sr., CALIFORNIA (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Named Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year for the second straight season after leading California to its fourth consecutive Pac-12 Swimming & Diving Championships title. The senior earned Pac-12 Swimmer of the Meet for the second straight year after winning three individual races (50- and 100-yard freestyles, 100-yard butterfly) and four relays (200 and 400 free, 200- and 400-yard medley). Hoffer also claimed five victories at the 2021 NCAA Championships event, which included the 100 free in a pool-record time of 40.89 seconds. The senior racked up two additional NCAA individual titles in the 50 free with a time of 18.63, and in the 100 fly with a time of 44.25. As a member of the Bears’ 200 and 400 free relay teams, Hoffer added two additional NCAA relay titles to his list of postseason accolades. 


In his first season as a Golden Bear, Lasco played an instrumental part in leading California to its fourth straight Pac-12 Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships title. Lasco swam a leg on two winning relays for the Bears, including the 400-yard freestyle relay (2:48.66) and 800 free relay (6:11.98). In an unprecedented season, the freshman racked up two victories for the Bears in the 100-yard backstroke (45.30) and 200 back (1:38.13) at the Conference championship. 


Durden was voted Pac-12 Swimming Coach of the Year for the fourth straight year and the 10th time in his career. He led the Golden Bears to their eighth Conference title in program history and sixth in his coaching career at Cal. California finished the Pac-12 Swimming & Diving Championships with a total of 970 points, sweeping all five relays and taking first place in 17-of-18 events during the meet.

MEN'S DIVER OF THE YEAR: Luke McDivitt, R-So., UTAH (Lexington, S.C.) 

McDivitt was voted Pac-12 Diver of the Year after a historic win for the Utes at the 2021 Pac-12 Championships. McDivitt became the first Utah diver in program history to win the Pac-12 title on platform. The redshirt junior continued his success at the 2021 NCAA Championships, where he had the highest platform finish in Utes' diving history and was named a first-team All-American on platform. This year was McDivitt’s first NCAA national competition, as he finished second on the platform (689.65), eighth on the 3-meter springboard (635.80) and 11th on the 1-meter springboard (569.00).

MEN'S FRESHMAN DIVER OF THE YEAR: Hunter Hollenbeck, Fr., STANFORD (Okemos, Mich.) 

Hollenbeck finished his first collegiate diving season being named Pac-12 Freshman Diver of The Year. Hollenbeck made a strong impact at his first Pac-12 Championships, earning eighth place on the 3-meter springboard (310.50) and ninth on the 1-meter springboard (278.05) to finish as the league's top freshman for both events. He also qualified for the Zone E diving meet on both the 1-meter and 3-meter, reaching the finals of both events. 


In his 11th season as Utah’s head diving coach, Marschner has been voted Pac-12 Diving Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. Marschner led the Utes to their most dominating performance yet at the Pac-12 Championships, as they came out on top in the diving competition with 133 points, the most in program history. Guided by Marschner, the Utes sent three divers to the podium, including Luke McDivitt's platform win to become the first Ute to secure a Pac-12 diving title. He also led four Utes to qualify for the NCAA Championships, which is the most in a single season for the program.