Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Ten Pac-12 Year-End Awards For Huskies

Apr 29, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - After finishing second in the Pac-12 and earning the #7 seed in the NCAA Tournament, the Washington Huskies earned ten year-end honors from the Pac-12. That included Charlie Ostrem earning Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and Jamie Clark earning Coach of the Year.

Ostrem, Dylan Teves, and Christian Soto all earned All-Pac-12 First Team. Lucas Meek, Ryan Sailor, Kendall Burks, and Sam Fowler all earned All-Pac-12 Second Team. Gio Miglietti earned All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention.

The eight All-Pac-12 awards are Washington's most since 2009, when they had nine such honors. Washington has had three players earn All-Pac-12 First Team seven times now, including twice in the last three years and five times in the last ten. The seven Huskies earning First Team or Second Team are the most in Husky history.

Ostrem is the third Husky ever to earn Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, joining Spencer Richey (2012) and Ethan Bartlow (2019) in that regard. This year, Ostrem led the Pac-12 in assists, the first Husky to do so since 2013 and the most ever by a Husky defender. No Husky has had more assists in a single season than Ostrem since Wes Hart, who had a program-record 15 in 1998. Ostrem joins Michael Harris (2013) and Raphael Cox (2006) as the only Huskies ever to lead the Pac-12 in assists.

This is Clark's third Coach of the Year award and second in a row, having also earned such honors in 2013 and 2019. Clark is the fourth coach ever to earn three or more Pac-12 Coach of the Year awards and the first to do so in back-to-back seasons since Jeremy Gunn in 2014-2017.

This is the third consecutive year that Teves has earned All-Pac-12 honors. This year, Teves set the program record for most penalty kicks without a miss, going 4-for-4. He finished third in the Pac-12 with a career-high 19 points. Teves also had a three-assist game, becoming the first Husky since 1999 to have three assists in one game.

Both Soto and Fowler earned their second All-Pac-12 awards, having also earned the award in 2019. Soto had nine points this season, starting all 13 games in the midfield for the Huskies. He played every minute in eight games and played 75+ in 12 of 13 games. Fowler started 12 games for the Huskies, maintaining a GAA under 0.80 for the second year in a row. Fowler led the Pac-12 in GAA at 0.72, allowing multiple goals just twice while recording six shutouts.

Meek, Sailor, and Miglietti all earned their first career All-Pac-12 awards. Meek followed up his six-goal 2019 season with a five-goal 2020, including a brace early on. He would start every game for Washington and was a part of eight goals, drawing two penalties that resulted in Teves PK goals as well. Sailor played 90+ minutes six times in central defense. The Husky captain also scored the first three goals of his career, including a dramatic 90th minute goal against San Diego State to send the game to overtime. Miglietti appeared in 12 of 13 games and started nine. He had seven points this year, starting the season with a goal and an assist in the season opener. Miglietti would end the regular season starting seven straight games.

The Huskies next play in the NCAA Tournament, facing Grand Canyon on May 2 at 1:00 pm PT. That game will be streamed live via

Make sure to follow the Huskies on social media at @UW_MSoccer.

Soto second, Meek first, Sailor first, Miglietti first, Fowler second