Skip to main content

Men's Golf Dominates Pac-12 Awards

May 6, 2021

TUCSON, Ariz. – A banner season for Arizona Men's Golf that included its sweep of the team and individual tiles at the Pac-12 Championships gave the program the lion's share of the conference awards. Brad Reeves was named Pac-12 Player of the Year and head coach Jim Anderson was Coach of the Year to highlight a bevy of all-conference awards earned by Wildcats.

Reeves and fellow senior Trevor Werbylo were selected to the All-Pac-12 First Team for the first time in both of their careers. Their selections also marked the first time Arizona has had multiple first team, all-conference honorees since Henry Liaw and Chris Nallen in 2004. Reeves and Werbylo combined to win three events this season at the Arizona Intercollegiate, The Prestige and the Pac-12 Championships.

The Wildcats also placed a pair of golfers on the All-Pac-12 Second Team with David Laskin and Chase Sienkiewicz. The second team selection is the first in the careers of the senior and sophomore as Sienkiewicz also earned a spot on the Pac-12 All-Newcomer Team.

Laskin was the Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year and adds an all-conference nod to his resume follow a strong final season at Arizona that included a top-10 finish at the Arizona Intercollegiate and a top-20 finish at the Pac-12 Championships.

Sienkiewicz played the best golf of his sophomore season down the stretch, which included the best tournament of his career with a 10-under score and sixth-place finish at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational.

Arizona's season will continue at NCAA Regionals on Monday, May 17 as the No. 4 seed at the Cle Elum Regional. The Cats will tee off for the first of three days at Tumble Creek Golf & Country Club outside of Seattle, Washington.  

Arizona Wildcats in 2021 All-Pac-12 Awards
Brad Reeves – Pac-12 Player of the Year, All-Pac-12 First Team
Jim Anderson – Pac-12 Coach of the Year
Trevor Werbylo – All-Pac-12 First Team
David Laskin – All-Pac-12 Second Team
Chase Sienkiewicz – All-Pac-12 Second Team, Pac-12 All-Newcomer Team