Skip to main content

Hocker, Teare Hold Steady on Watch List

May 20, 2021

EUGENE, Ore. – Behind a pair of Pac-12 title performances last weekend, Cole Hocker and Cooper Teare maintain their spots on The Bowerman Watch List. The post-conference edition of the watch list was announced Thursday afternoon.
Hocker accounted for 16 points at the Pac-12 Championships with his victory at 5,000 meters and bronze showing in the 800 meters. He recorded a personal best of 1:46.39 in the 800 final and, in an hour's time, was back on the track to run 13:32.68 over 5,000 meters to win his first Pac-12 title.
The Indianapolis, Ind., native currently owns top-10 national marks in three events with an NCAA-leading time of 13:19.98 over 5,000 meters. Hocker also ranks fourth in the 1,500 meters (3:36.47) and seventh in the 800 meters with his performance at the Pac-12 Championships. He is entered in the 1,500 and 5,000 meters for the upcoming NCAA West Preliminary.
Hocker: 2021 Season Bests
800 Meters – 1:46.39
800 Meters(i) – 1:48.44
1,500 Meters – 3:36.47
Mile – 3:50.55
3,000 Meters – 7:46.15
5,000 Meters – 13:19.98
Teare began his 2021 postseason campaign with a win in the 1,500 meters at the Pac-12 Championships, earning the second conference title of his career (5,000m – 2019). He stopped the clock in 3:39.81 in victory, and went on to add eight more points for the Men of Oregon with a runner-up effort in the 5,000 meters.
The UO standout ranks second nationally in the 1,500 and 5,000 meters. His 3:35.97 performance at the Oregon Twilight (May 7) makes him the No. 8 performer in collegiate history. Teare owns a season-best time of 13:20.24 for the 5,000 meters, which is where he will focus for the NCAA West Preliminary.
Teare: 2021 Season Bests
800 Meters – 1:48.99
800 Meters(i) – 1:49.29
1,500 Meters – 3:35.97
Mile – 3:50.39
3,000 Meters – 7:46.10
5,000 Meters – 13:20.24
Along with Hocker and Teare, redshirt freshman Emmanuel Ihemeje is receiving votes in the latest edition of The Bowerman Watch List. In his first appearance since the Hayward Premiere (April 3), Ihemeje broke the UO record with a mark of 16.60m/54-5.5 in a runner-up finish at the Pac-12 Championships.
Named for legendary Oregon head coach Bill Bowerman and first awarded in 2009, The Bowerman is presented annually to the year's most outstanding male and female performers in collegiate track and field.
Five Ducks have won The Bowerman, a list featuring Galen Rupp (2009), Ashton Eaton (2010), Laura Roesler (2010), Jenna Prandini (2015) and Raevyn Rogers (2017). Bowerman, Eaton and Rogers are three of the five UO icons depicted on the tower at Hayward Field.
The next updates of the watch list are set for June 7 (women) and June 8 (men).
For more news and information about Oregon Track and Field, follow @OregonTF on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.