Skip to main content

Best Finish in Program History

Jun 8, 2021

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Stanford sailing placed second overall at the ICSA Coed National Championships, earning the best result in program history. Stanford raised the Oxford University Yacht Club Trophy with the result, while Michelle Lahrkamp is the first woman since 2001 to earn the Robert M. Allan Jr. Trophy as the highest finishing skipper in the B-division. She is also the first Stanford athlete to earn the honor.

Stanford finished behind only Navy, scoring 236 points across 18 races on Monday and Tuesday, June 7-8. Telis Athanasopoulos Yogo and Patricia Gerli sailed in the A-division, taking sixth overall in the division, while the tandem of Lahrkamp and Sammy Pickell won the B-Division, Stanford's first title in the division in program history. Stanford's only previous boat to win a division title came in the A-Division in 1966, skippered by Kim Desenberg.

The Cardinal was near the top of the table throughout the regatta, as the four sailors combined for four race wins. The A-division duo finished in the top five eight times, including five of the last seven races, while the B-division pair tallied 10 top-fives, including each of the last five races to secure the division title and second-place overall finish. Lahrkamp and Pickell ended up winning the B-flight by 23 points.

12 races were sailed on the opening day, with Stanford holding onto third place entering Tuesday's closing slate of races. The Cardinal was the fastest team on the water over the final six outings, combining for just 53 points to lead all teams.

The second-place finish caps a tremendous trio of national championship regattas for Stanford, as the team ended in fifth place at both the ICSA Women's Championship and the ICSA Team Race Championship.