Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
553 NCAA Titles & Counting

Omaha-Bound! Stanford and Arizona head to the 2021 College World Series

Jun 16, 2021

With only eight teams advancing to the 2021 College World Series, No. 9 Stanford and No. 5 Arizona represent the Pac-12’s chances to add yet another title this season. The Conference so far has seen eight programs capture NCAA team titles, the most among all conferences in 2020-21, with only the College World Series left on the NCAA championship schedule. The last Pac-12 baseball title came in 2018 with Oregon State's run through Omaha. 

Stanford punched its ticket to Omaha by decimating No. 8 Texas Tech in the Super Regionals. The Cardinal outscored the Red Raiders by a whopping 24 runs to 3 in the two-game sweep. Outfielder Brock Jones and starting pitcher Alex Williams shined brightest in the 9-0 clincher, with Jones homering three times and Williams tossing a complete-game shutout. Stanford is looking for its first title since 1988 when Hall-of-Famer Mike Mussina and the Card defeated Arizona State in the finals.

It took three games for Arizona to get past No. 12 Ole Miss in the Super Regionals but the Wildcats trounced the Rebels in the deciding game, exploding for 16 runs to cruise to a 16-3 victory, tied for the most runs in a postseason game in school history. Playing in front of a raucous home crowd at Hi Corbett Field, Arizona’s top three hitters, Donta Williams, Jacob Berry, and Branden Boissiere, went a combined 9-for-14 with 10 RBIs and 10 runs scored. With the win, Arizona became the only university to send both its baseball and softball teams to the College World Series this year. Arizona is hunting for its first championship since 2012.

Both teams get underway on Saturday, June 19 at the TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb. Stanford will open the College World Series against North Carolina State at 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m. ET, while Arizona will take on Vanderbilt at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET. Both games will be broadcast live on ESPN. A complete schedule of games can be found here