Skip to main content

Hocker, Teare Named Bowerman Semifinalists

Jun 17, 2021

EUGENE, Ore. – In recognition of their standout efforts throughout the 2021 collegiate season, Cole Hocker and Cooper Teare have been named two of the 10 men's semifinalists for The Bowerman. The list of was announced Thursday afternoon. Award finalists will be announced at a later date.
Hocker won the 1,500 meters at the NCAA Championships for his third national title of the year. He crossed the finish line at Hayward Field in a time of 3:35.35 to become the No. 4 performer in collegiate history. He added a fourth-place national finish in the 5,000 meters. Hocker posted a personal-best time of 13:18.95 to become the No. 13 performer in NCAA history.
The Indianapolis, Ind., native was the Pac-12 champion in the 5,000 meters to go along with a bronze effort in the 800 meters. Hocker made his watch-list debut in March.
Having appeared on all seven watch lists this year, Teare capped his collegiate season with an NCAA title in the 5,000 meters. The Alameda, Calif., native stopped the clock in 13:12.27 to break the NCAA Championships meet record, surpass the previous UO record—13:14.8 by Bill McChesney Jr.—and record the No. 2 time in collegiate history.
Teare, the Pac-12 champion at 1,500 meters, currently ranks as the No. 10 performer on the all-time list for that event with his 3:35.97 at the Oregon Twilight (May 7). He was also the Pac-12 runner-up at 5,000 meters.
This year marks the fourth time—2010, 2014, 2016, 2021—the UO men have had multiple semifinalists for The Bowerman.
2010: Ashton Eaton, Andrew Wheating
2014: Devon Allen, Edward Cheserek
2016: Devon Allen, Edward Cheserek
2021: Cole Hocker, Cooper Teare
Named for legendary Oregon head coach Bill Bowerman and first awarded in 2009, The Bowerman is presented annually to the year's most outstanding male and female performers in collegiate track and field.
Five Ducks have won The Bowerman, a list featuring Galen Rupp (2009), Ashton Eaton (2010), Laura Roesler (2010), Jenna Prandini (2015) and Raevyn Rogers (2017). Bowerman, Eaton and Rogers are three of the five UO icons depicted on the tower at Hayward Field.
The women's semifinalists were revealed Wednesday. The Bowerman winner will be announced December 16 as part of the USTFCCCA Convention in Orlando.
For more news and information about Oregon Track and Field, follow @OregonTF on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.