Skip to main content

Ryan on Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug 26, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. - Redshirt senior Zach Ryan has been named to the preseason watch list for the MAC Hermann Trophy, announced by the organization on Thursday.

The Hermann Trophy, presented annually by the Missouri Athletic Club, is the nation's highest individual honor recognizing the nation's National Player of the Year. Division I coaches who are members of the United Soccer Coaches College Services program vote for the award.

Ryan, the 2020 Pac-12 Player of the Year, has been a key cog to Stanford's offense since his arrival on The Farm leading the team in goals each of the last three seasons. In the spring, Ryan totaled 10 goals and three assists for 23 points. He scored in nine of Stanford's 14 matches, including a season-best brace at rival California in February. He finished second in the Pac-12 in both total goals and total points, while his four game-winning goals were first in the conference and third nationally, with none bigger than his overtime winner against No. 6 Washington to win the league championship. He also ranked near the top-10 nationally in goals per game, points per game, total goals and total points. He is just shy of breaking into the program's top-10 lists for career goals and career points.

In 2015, two-time Stanford All-American and two-time MLS Cup champion Jordan Morris became the first Cardinal men's player to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Stanford has featured at least one player on the list of semifinalists for the award in six straight years.

Fifteen players are named Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Nov. 30 following United Soccer Coaches Division I All-America voting after the regular season. A final round of voting names three finalists on Dec. 15. The 2021 winner is announced on Jan. 7, 2022, in a ceremony at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.