Skip to main content

Bears Add 3 Wins As Chowderfest Ends

Sep 27, 2021
Cal senior Philip Hjorth earned the Sportsmanship Award at the Harvard tournament.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Cal men's tennis team posted three more victories as Harvard's Chowderfest tournament concluded on Sunday at the Beren Tennis Center. Golden Bear senior Philip Hjorth – who won in singles and doubles Sunday – claimed the event's Ned Weld Sportsmanship Award.
Hjorth finished with a 3-0 doubles record (2-0 partnering with Michael Wright and 1-0 with Yuta Kikuchi) along with a 2-1 singles record in Cambridge.
On Sunday, the pair of Hjorth and Kikuchi defeated Arizona State's Max McKennon and Fabien Salle, 7-6, in doubles, and Hjorth picked up a 6-4, 7-6 win over ASU's Christian Lerby in singles.
Cal's freshman duo of Wright and Carl Emil Overbeck added a 6-4 doubles result over the Sun Devils' Moritz Hoffman and Jonah Wilson. Wright also had a 3-0 doubles record at Chowderfest.
Florida's Ben Shelton, with a 3-0 singles record, was named the Dale Junta singles winner at Chowderfest.

Amanda Augustus, Cal's Interim Director of Tennis, reflected on the highlights of Cal's stay in the Boston area, which included Hjorth's award, Kikuchi's victory over Florida's fourth-ranked Duarte Vale on day one of Chowderfest and another moment on the trip.
"It was great for the team to experience an out of region tournament," she said. "This was a special event where they were able to watch the Laver Cup in person. We're proud to see Philip win the sportsmanship award. It is an important part of our program and speaks to how well Philip represents the team.
"Yuta defeating the No. 4 player in the country from NCAA champion Florida shows he is ready to make a big run up the rankings this season."
The Bears next compete in the Aggie Invitation from Friday through Sunday at UC Davis.
Sept. 26, 2021, in Cambridge, Mass.
Beren Tennis Center
Cal Results
Philip Hjorth/Yuta Kikuchi (Cal) def. Max McKennon/Fabien Salle (ASU), 7-6
Carl Emil Overbeck/Michael Wright (Cal) def. Moritz Hoffman/Jonah Wilson (ASU), 6-4 
Murphy Cassone (ASU) def. No. 124 Yuta Kikuchi (Cal), 6-0, 3-6, 6-3
Philip Hjorth (Cal) def. Christian Lerby (ASU), 6-4, 7-6 
Max McKennon (ASU) def. Carl Emil Overbeck (Cal), 6-4, 7-6 
Spencer Brachman (ASU) def. Michael Wright (Cal), 6-1, 6-1