Skip to main content

Cougs Run at Nuttycombe Invitational

Oct 15, 2021


Madison, Wisc. - The Washington State men's and women's cross country teams wrapped up their races at the Nuttycombe Invitational in Madison, Wisconsin on Friday, October 15.


Nemma Kimtai was the top performer for the WSU women, as the freshman clocked in a time of 21:10.4. The Kenyan native placed 80th out of 267 runners in the women's 6,000m race. Kimtai also led the Cougs with an average mile time of 5:40.7.

Freshman Alaina Stone Boggs was the next Coug finish, completing the course in 21:30.0 to place 131st overall. Stone Boggs had an average mile time of 5:46.0. The next Cougar to cross the finish line was sophomore Caroline Jerotich, who turned in a time of 21:59.0 to finish in 192nd place.

Senior Pia Richards and junior Zorana Grujic rounded out the team scoring for Washington State. Richards finished the 6,000m course in 22:08.02 to place 202nd overall, while Grujic posted a time of 22:30.4 to conclude the race in 228th place.

As a team, Washington State placed 32 out of 36 teams at the Nuttycombe Invitational, tallying 812 points. No. 3 New Mexico took first place in the women's 6,000m race, collecting 93 points as a team. Ceili McCabe of West Virginia was the first runner to cross the finish line at the Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course, as she clocked in at 19:57.4.


In men's race, senior Felix Wammetsberger led the way for Cougs, placing 97th out of 227 runners. The senior from Germany completed the 8,000m course in a season-best 24:28.8, shaving nearly 30 seconds off his previous season-best time. Wammetsberger posted an average mile time of 4:55.4 on the day.

Freshmen Kelvin Limo was the next Coug to cross the finish line, clocking in at 24:58.3 to earn a 153rd-place finish. Senior Kennan Schrag wrap up the men's 8,000m race at the Nuttycombe Invitational for Washington State with a time of 25:27.8.

The Washington State was unable to post a team score in the men's 8,000m race, as five WSU runners dropped out during the competition.

No. 6-ranked Iowa State took home first place as a team with 88 points. The Cyclone's Wesley Kiptoo was the first runner to finish the 8,000m race with a time of 23.11.2.

For more information on the Washington State cross country teams, follow @WSUCougarXCTF on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.