Skip to main content

Conti Named to Nancy Lieberman Award Top 20 Watch List

Oct 25, 2021
Gina Conti (photo by Jesus Ramirez)

Springfield, Mass. – Gina Conti has been named to the top 20 watch list for the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Monday. The award is presented annually to the nation's top point guard.
Conti is entering her first season with the Bruins after an impressive four-year career with Wake Forest. The Grove City, Ohio native earned All-ACC Second Team honors as a senior in 2021 after averaging 13.8 points and 4.6 assists per contest. She compiled 19 games with double-digit scoring totals and 11 games with at least five assists. The graduate transfer started her final 86 games for the Demon Deacons and finished second on Wake Forest's all-time assists list with 494.
Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies
Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will open up on Friday, October 29. Fans can vote for Conti to advance to future rounds of the watch list at for each of the three rounds of watch list consideration.
The winner of the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.
2022 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates*
Dyaisha Fair, Buffalo
Ali Patberg, Indiana
Caitlin Clar, Iowa
Jazmine Massengill, Kentucky
Hailey Van Lith, Louisville
Ashley Owusu, Maryland
Amy Dilk, Michigan
Myah Taylor, Mississippi State
Anastasia Hayes, Mississippi State
Raina Perez, NC State
Diamond Johnson, NC State
Veronica Burton, Northwestern
Te-Hina Pao Pao, Oregon
Lauren Park-Lane, Seton Hall
Destanni Henderson, South Carolina
Lauren Heard, TCU
Gina Conti, UCLA
Paige Bueckers, UConn
Dru Gylten, Utah
Katia Gallegos, UTEP
*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season.