Skip to main content

Hicks Earns Pac-12 Honor

Nov 4, 2021

A YEAR AFTER being named Freshman of the Year, Stanford's Charles Hicks was named Pac-12 Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year. 

The honor comes on the heels of Hicks' victory at the Pac-12 Championships on Friday in Salt Lake City. 

Three members of Stanford's second-place men's team earned all-conference honors. And all three -- Hicks, Ky Robinson, and Cole Sprout – are freshmen in eligibility. 

Hicks is Stanford's eighth Men's Athlete of the Year, joining Grant Fisher (2017, 2018), Chris Derrick (2009), Ryan Hall (2003), Grant Robison (2002), Donald Sage (2001), Jonathon Riley (2000), and Marc Olesen (1985). Hicks also was the Cardinal's first men's champion since Fisher captured back-to-back titles in 2017 and 2018 and eighth all-time.

Zofia Dudek, also a freshman in eligibility, earned her second all-conference honor in cross country.
* * * 

The following are Stanford's all-conference honors:

Men's Athlete of the Year: Charles Hicks

First team

Charles Hicks
Ky Robinson

Second team
Cole Sprout

Second team

Zofia Dudek