Skip to main content

USC To Host Trojan Diving Invitational At Uytengsu Aquatics Center

Nov 10, 2021

USC, led by junior 2021 Pac-12 champion Nike Agunbiade, will host the seven-team Trojan Diving Invitational, Friday through Sunday (Nov. 12-14), at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center.
Divers from USC, UNLV, Fresno State, Cal Poly, Air Force Academy, Azuza Pacific and UCLA will compete on all three specialties.  Results will be available at
Action Friday begins with men's 3-meter and women's 1-meter prelims at 11 a.m. with finals starting at 12:30 p.m. Saturday features women's 3-meter and men's platform with 11 a.m. prelims and 12:30 p.m. finals. Sunday's men's 1-meter and women's platform begins at 11 a.m., finals at 12:15 p.m.
This past weekend, the USC diving squad opened the 2021-22 season in Tucson against Arizona, with freshmen Sean Wang winning on both 1-meter (308.10) and 3-meter (371.60). Junior George Korovin was second on 3-meter (346.70) and third on 1-meter (285.15). 
Junior Agunbiade led the way for the Women of Troy, finishing second on both 1-meter (292.10) and 3-meter (321.00). During her Trojan debut, sophomore Maddie Huitt was third on 3-meter (304.80). Freshmen Grace Lee was third on 1-meter with 259.35. 
USC's diving contingent promises to be one of the strongest in the conference. Among the returning divers are junior Nike Agunbiade, the 2021 Pac-12 3-meter champion, and All-American's Savannah Stocker and George Korovin.  This year, the Trojans welcome several accomplished divers as Sean WangMaddie HuittGrace Lee and Ky Duong join 23rd-year Head Coach Hongping Li's small but mighty squad. 
During the 2021 condensed season, Li coached three divers to NCAA qualifications with sophomore's Nike Agunbiade and George Korovin qualifying on all three boards. Stocker punched her ticket to NCAA's after an impressive performance at the Zone E Diving Championships. 
Li also Coached USC to an additional 10 championship final appearances at the Pac-12 Diving Championships. To wrap up the season, Trojan newcomer Farah Volpintesta earned Pac-12 Women's Freshman Diver of the Year, while Li was recognized for his work, earning the 2021 Pac-12 Women's Diving Coach of the Year award, his 12th such honor. 
Captains for this year's diving squad are senior Alyson Tam and junior George Korovin.