Skip to main content

Bernard, Johnson Named Candidates for Senior Class Award

Dec 7, 2021
Myles Johnson (left) and Jules Bernard (photo by Scott Chandler)

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – UCLA seniors Jules Bernard and Myles Johnson have been selected as two of 30 men's basketball candidates for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award.
Student-athletes eligible for this award must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.
Bernard and Johnson have played instrumental roles for UCLA during the early portion of the Bruins' 2021-22 campaign. Bernard, a 6-foot-7 guard from Los Angeles, has been mainstay in UCLA's rotation for four seasons. He has averaged 14.0 points and 4.4 rebounds in eight games this season. He has played in more collegiate games (103) than any other current Bruins' basketball player.
Johnson, a 6-foot-10 center from Long Beach, Calif., graduated in the spring from Rutgers University with his undergraduate degree in electrical and computer engineering. Johnson is currently enrolled as a graduate student in UCLA's engineering program. He has averaged 5.5 points and 6.8 rebounds in the team's first eight games this season.
During his time as a student-athlete at Rutgers, Johnson was a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) that traveled to Puerto Rico in the summer, benefitting the Soles4Souls program, a global not-for-profit dedicated to fighting poverty. In addition, Johnson has established his own non-profit – named BLKdev – an initiative to inspire minority youths to participate in STEM programs (science, technology, engineering and mathematics).
UCLA (Bernard, Johnson) and Loyola-Chicago (Tate Hall, Lucas Williamson) are the only schools to have multiple student-athletes selected to this season's 30-person Senior Class Award watch list in men's basketball.
Men's and women's basketball candidates will be narrowed to two fields of 10 finalists later this season. Those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will then select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the pillars of community, classroom, character and competition.
The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men's Final Four® and NCAA Women's Final Four® this spring.
For more information on this season's award candidates, please visit
2021-22 Men's Candidates, Senior Class Award
Alex Barcello (BYU)
Evan Battey (Colorado)
Jules Bernard (UCLA)
Buddy Boeheim (Syracuse)
Eli Brooks (Michigan)
Garrison Brooks (Mississippi State)
Brad Davison (Wisconsin)
Anthony Duruji (Florida)
Trent Frazier (Illinois)
John Fulkerson (Tennessee)
Jacob Gilyard (Richmond)
Tanner Groves (Oklahoma)
Tate Hall (Loyola Chicago)
Ron Harper Jr. (Rutgers)
John Harrar (Penn State)
Ryan Hawkins (Creighton)
ShanQuan Hemphill (Drake)
Myles Johnson (UCLA)
Jarkel Joiner (Ole Miss)
Gavin Kensmil (Stephen F. Austin)
Isaac Likekele (Oklahoma State)
Kameron McGusty (Miami)
Alex Morales (Wagner)
Justyn Mutts (Virginia Tech)
Austin Phyfe (Northern Iowa)
D'Shawn Schwartz (George Mason)
Eli Scott (Loyola Marymount)
Sasha Stefanovic (Purdue)
Lucas Williamson (Loyola Chicago)