Skip to main content

The Complete Package

Dec 9, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. – Holly Campbell has been named the Pac-12 Women's Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2021 season, the conference announced today.

The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

An economics major with a 3.87 GPA, Campbell is a two-time NCAA and Pac-12 champion (2018, 2019). A three-year starter, she was a Pac-12 All-Freshman Team selection in 2018 and a two-time Pac-12 Freshman of the Week. As a senior in 2021, the Austin, Texas, native, was a CoSIDA Academic All-District pick and has twice been named to the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll.

Campbell spent time as an analyst on the Sustainable Investing Solutions team with UBS during the summer of 2021, creating educational pieces on sustainable investing for financial advisors and performing data analysis on UBS's sustainable product offering to find any gaps in the product shelf. The previous summer, she served as an analyst at Anacapa Partners, a search-fund based private equity firm where she researched potential investment opportunities and generated industry-focused analyses to present to the investment team.

Campbell was also a member of the Stanford Women in Finance Club, which educates women on how to break into the financial industry. She will be working at BCG (Boston Consulting Group) in Austin, Texas following her graduation in June.

Campbell is the fourth straight Pac-12 Women's Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year from Stanford, following Meghan McClure (2020), Morgan Hentz (2019) and Tami Alade (2018), and the sixth Cardinal overall. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

ALSO NOMINATED: Merle Weidt (Arizona), Jenna Ewert (Colorado), Taylor Borup (Oregon), Grace Massey (Oregon State), Mac May (UCLA), Candice Denny (USC), Madelyn Robinson (Utah) and Penny Tusa (Washington State).