Skip to main content

Beavers Ready For Reno Tournament Of Champions Sunday

Dec 16, 2021

12/19-9:00 a.m.-Reno TOC-Reno, Nev.

Probable Lineup
125-#13 Brandon Kaylor
133-#21 Devan Turner
133-Kade Uyesaka
141-#12 Grant Willits
149-#30 Cory Crooks
149-Lane Stigall
149-Riley Gurr    
157-#17 Hunter Willits    
165-Matthew Olguin    
174-#24 Aaron "Mateo" Olmos
174-Mason Reiniche    
184-Jackson McKinney    
197-J.J. Dixon    
197-Ryan Reyes    
HWT-#24 Gary Traub    

This Week
• Oregon State heads to the Reno Tournament of Champions Sunday for a one-day event. Oregon State is one of 24 teams at the event. 
• The Beavers last competed in the Reno Tournament of Champions during the 2020 season, finishing in fourth place.

Last Time Out
• Gary Traub took the heavyweight title at the Cliff Keen Invitational Dec. 3 and 4 in Las Vegas. His win highlighted OSU's team finish of eighth, the Beavers' best since the 2012-13 season.
• Traub went 5-0 and picked up three top-30 wins, all coming via 3-1 sudden victories. Thanks to his 5-0 mark, he is riding a six-match win streak.
• Brandon Kaylor took third place at 125 pounds, while Devan Turner finished fourth at 133 pounds and Grant Willits was fifth at 141 pounds.

Beavers In The Rankings
• Oregon State wrestlers made a big jump in the rankings after their successes in Las Vegas.
• The biggest jump was made by Gary Traub, who enters the trip to Reno ranked 10th by Intermat. He had been unranked prior to his heavyweight championship.
• Grant Willits is 12th, followed by Brandon Kaylor at 13. Hunter Willits is ranked 17th while Devan Turner is 21st. Mateo Olmos checks in at 24 while Cory Crooks rounds out OSU's seven rankings at 30.

Top Wins
• Gary Traub, Mateo Olmos and Grant Willits all have three wins over top-33 wrestlers this season. Olmos picked up two in the Beavers' opening weekend in November, while Traub and Willits both defeated three top-33 victories while in Las Vegas.
• Brandon Kaylor, meanwhile, has two top wins this season.

Reno History
• Oregon State had competed in Reno for four consecutive seasons, from 2017-20. OSU was also there for four straight years from 2012-15.
• The Beavers last took the team title in Reno during the 2012-13 season. RJ Pena won at 157 and OSU claimed seven wrestlers who finished in the top five of their respective weight classes.