Skip to main content

USC Lacrosse’s Kelsey Huff Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Feb 10, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. – USC graduate midfielder Kelsey Huff (Eastport, N.Y./Eastport-South Manor HS) was named among 50 women to the official Tewaaraton Foundation's 2022 Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists on Thursday, Feb. 10. The lists—one each for men's and women's players—include the top student-athletes across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2022 Tewaaraton Award. 
The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.
"This is going to be such an exciting lacrosse season, and we're happy to be recognizing these talented student-athletes," said Jeffrey Harvey, chair of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "We wish everyone the best of luck as the spring gets underway."
Huff was a midseason addition to the Watch List as a sophomore in 2019 and earned the Pac-12's Midfielder of the Year honor as a senior in 2021. She is a two-time Pac-12 All-Conference first-team selection and has two IWLCA All-Region honors in her career. Huff ranks fourth all-time at USC for career goals (118) and is seventh in career points (138). She is also ninth all-time at USC with 49 caused turnovers in her career. 

Players not named to this initial list will have opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions will be announced on March 11 and April 1, before the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees on April 21. Nominees can be players from the watch lists or not from the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced in early May. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.
Several Trojans have advanced to be named to the list of Tewaaraton Award nominees. Most recently, three-time All-American Michaela Michaelreceived nominee status in 2017. Michael and All-American midfielder Amanda Johansen were the first two Trojans ever to be named to the Tewaaraton Award's Watch List at the beginning of 2016. Michael and All-American defender Courtney Tarleton were each named nominees at the end of that 2016 season. Michael, defender Lydia Sutton and goalie Gussie Johns were each on the 2017 watch list. Johns and Sutton were on the initial 2018 watch list and were later joined by Kerrigan Miller, who was on the official watch list for three consecutive years (2018-20).
The Women of Troy will open the 2022 season on Saturday (Feb. 12) with a 1 p.m. PT home game against San Diego State. For more information on the USC women's lacrosse team, a complete schedule, and results, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow the team on Instagram and on Twitter @USCTrojansLax.
Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six nations of the Haudenosaunee/Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Sarah Aschenbach
The Tewaaraton Foundation
(202) 255-1485