Skip to main content

Mathurin Named Finalist For Wooden Award

Mar 5, 2022

LOS ANGELES – Arizona sophomore guard Bennedict Mathurin has been named one of 15 finalists on the ballot for the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy's, which is given to the most outstanding college basketball player in the country.
Mathurin, a native of Montreal, is a finalist for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award and is averaging 17.4 points, which ranks second in the Pac-12 this season. He's also grabbing 5.7 rebounds and dishing out 2.5 assists while shooting 47.1% from the floor and 37.9% from the 3-point line. He has scored in double figure 27 of 30 games, including 11 games with 20 or more points. He has been named the Pac-12 Player of the Week on three occasions this year, including back-to-back weeks in December.
All balloted players have been certified by their university to meet or exceed the qualifications for the Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden when the Award was established. The qualifications include: candidates must exhibit strength of character, both on and off the court; candidates must be full-time students in an accredited NCAA college or university; candidates must be making progress toward graduation and have a cumulative 2.00 grade point average since enrolling in their school; candidates must contribute to team effort; candidates must excel in both offense and defense; and candidates should be considered on their performance over the course of the entire season.
Voting will take place from March 14th to March 21st, and voters take into consideration a player's entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The finalists for the 2022 Wooden Award presented by Wendy's will be announced on March 30th.
2022 Wendy's Wooden Award National Ballot

Name School Conference Height Class Position
Ochai Agbaji Kansas Big 12 6-5 Sr. G
Paolo Banchero Duke ACC 6-10 Fr. F
Kofi Cockburn* Illinois Big Ten 7-0 Jr. C
Johnny Davis Wisconsin Big Ten 6-5 Soph G/F
Collin Gillespie Villanova Big East 6-3 Sr. G
Chet Holmgren Gonzaga WCC 7-0 Fr. C
Jaden Ivey Purdue Big Ten 6-4 Soph G
Johnny Juzang UCLA Pac-12 6-7 Jr. G
Walker Kessler Auburn SEC 7-1 Soph F/C
E.J. Liddell Ohio State Big Ten 6-7 Jr. F
Bennedict Mathurin Arizona Pac-12 6-6 Soph G
Keegan Murray Iowa Big Ten 6-8 Soph F
Jabari Smith Auburn SEC 6-10 Fr. F
Drew Timme* Gonzaga WCC 6-10 Jr. F
Oscar Tshiebwe Kentucky SEC 6-9 Jr. F