Skip to main content

Mathurin A Semifinalist for Naismith Trophy

Mar 11, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the 10 semifinalists for the 2022 Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy Men's Basketball Player of the Year on Friday and Arizona guard Bennedict Mathurin was included on the list.
Mathurin, who hails from Montreal, is the ninth different Arizona player to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year and the first since Deandre Ayton in 2018. Overall, it's the 10th time that an Arizona has been named the conference's top player, which leads all Pac-12 schools. In Pac-12 play, Mathurin ranked second in scoring (17.25), sixth in 3-point field goals made per game (2.1), eighth in 3-point field goal percentage (38.5%), 12th in minutes played (31.98), 15th in assists (2.7) and 18th in rebounding (5.2). He has already been named a second team all-American by The Sporting News and College Hoops Today in addition to one of five finalists for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award and a finalist for the Wooden Award.
In the opening game of the Pac-12 Tournament, Mathurin scored 20 points – connecting on four triples – to help the Wildcats to a 84-80 win over Stanford. Top-seeded Arizona will take on No. 4 seed Colorado at 7:00 p.m. MST on Friday in Las Vegas.
2022 Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy Semifinalists

Full Name Class Pos. College Conference
Ochai Agbaji Sr. G Kansas Big 12
Kofi Cockburn Jr. C Illinois Big Ten
Johnny Davis So. G Wisconsin Big Ten
Chet Holmgren Fr. C Gonzaga WCC
E.J. Liddell Jr. F Ohio State Big Ten
Bennedict Mathurin So. G Arizona Pac-12
Keegan Murray So. F Iowa Big Ten
Jabari Smith Fr. F Auburn SEC
Drew Timme Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Oscar Tshiebwe Jr. F Kentucky SEC