Skip to main content

Mathurin Becomes Concensus All-American After USBWA Nod

Mar 17, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona sophomore guard Bennedict Mathurin was named a second team All-American by the United States Basketball Writers Association on Thursday. He was also named to the second team all-American list by the NABC, The Sporting News and Associated Press, making him a consensus second team selection.
The USBWA has named a men's All-America Team since its inaugural season of 1956-57. Since the 2017-18 season, the USBWA has expanded the team to honor 15 players on three teams, regardless of position. For the first time, the USBWA has also recognized players with honorable mention. The All-America Team is selected by the USBWA board after voting from the entire membership and the honor is based on performance during the regular season and conference tournaments.
Mathurin was named the Pac-12 Player of the Year and the Most Outstanding Player of the Pac-12 tournament this season. He is averaging 17.4 points, 5.6 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game entering the NCAA Tournament. He is one of five finalists for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award and was a three-time Pac-12 Player of the Week honoree.

Pos. First Team Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G Ochai Agbaji, Kansas 6-5 215 Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
C Kofi Cockburn, Illinois 7-0 285 Jr. Kingston, Jamaica
G/F Johnny Davis, Wisconsin 6-5 194 So. LaCrosse, Wis.
F Keegan Murray, Iowa 6-8 225 So. Cedar Rapids, Iowa
F Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky 6-9 255 Jr. Lubumbashi, Congo
Pos. Second Team Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F Paolo Banchero, Duke 6-10 250 Fr. Seattle, Wash.
G Jaden Ivey, Purdue 6-4 195 So. South Bend, Ind.
G Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona 6-6 210 So. Montreal, Quebec
F Jabari Smith, Auburn 6-10 220 Fr. Fayetteville, Ga.
F Drew Timme, Gonzaga 6-10 235 Jr. Richardson, Texas
Pos. Third Team Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G James Akinjo, Baylor 6-1 190 Sr. Oakland, Calif.
G Collin Gillespie, Villanova 6-3 195 Gr. Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
F Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga 7-0 195 Fr. Minneapolis, Minn.
F/C Walker Kessler, Auburn 7-1 245 So. Newnan, Ga.
F E.J. Liddell, Ohio State 6-7 240 Jr. Belleville, Ill.
Honorable mention: Armando Bacot, North Carolina; Johnny Juzang, UCLA; JD Notae, Arkansas; David Roddy, Colorado State; Alondes Williams, Wake Forest.