Skip to main content

Beavers Compete at Washington

Apr 2, 2022

SEATTLE, Wash. – The Oregon State men's rowing team was unable to overcome a strong Washington team Saturday morning in Seattle.
"Washington is one of the best teams in the country," said Oregon State head coach Gabe Winkler. "The varsity matched their speed for 750 meters, but got out-powered through The Cut. This is a new lineup with two freshman making their varsity debut (Dylan Stengel and Jackson Mastrorilli) and they are just going to get better. The JV also had a solid piece. We can build to a big weekend coming up."
The Beavers Varsity 8 finished second to Washington, as the boat of Ethan deBorja (coxswain), Dylan Stengel, Ryan Ghalayini, Jackson Mastrorilli, Cal Labonski, Tristan Gavin, Ryan Coulter, Nils Patrick and Colin Lindquist clocked in with a time of 6:01.52.
Oregon State's JV 8 also placed behind the Huskies, with a time of 6:11.82. The Beavers' Varsity 4 finished third in its four-team race, clocking in at 7:11.02. The OSU 3V8 opened the day by coming in third in a four-boat field with a time of 6:24.45.
The Beavers will head to the Bay Area next weekend for the Redwood Shores Invitational.
Varsity 8:
Washington – 5:47.295
Oregon State – 6:01.518
Washington – 5:54.314
Oregon State – 6:11.823
Washington 3V – 6:02.599
Washington FR8 – 6:06.066
Oregon State – 6:24.452
Western Washington – 6:48.551
Varsity 4:
Washington – 6:51.256
UC Irvine – 6:52.989
Oregon State – 7:11.016
Western Washington – 7:19.759
Oregon State Lineups:
Varsity 8:
Cox: Ethan deBorja
8: Dylan Stengel
7: Ryan Ghalayini
6: Jackson Mastrorilli
5: Cal Labonski
4: Tristan Gavin
3: Ryan Coulter
2: Nils Patrick
1: Colin Lindquist
Cox: Drew Riviello
8: Andrew Balsbaugh
7: Philipp Seeger
6: Brian Tames
5: Nathan Purtzer
4: Tristin Vanderlind
3: Connor Aeschbach
2: William La Fond
1: Ben La Fond
Cox: Lidya Acar
8: Tanner Mathews
7: Aiden Susak
6: Matty Shepherd
5: Kai Geller
4: Chad Lee
3: Miles Cochran
2: Christian Touhey
1: Landen Acosta
Varsity 4
Cox: Mateo Olmedo
4: Patrick McIntee
3: Eric Tubby
2: Ryan Ramsey
1: Samuel Silberstein
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).