Skip to main content

Seven Bruins Earn MPSF Honors, Musselman Player of the Year

Apr 21, 2022
Maddie Musselman became the first women's player in UCLA history to be named a four-time First-Team All-MPSF selection.

SOCIAL MEDIA: WWP on Twitter | WWP on Facebook | WWP on Instagram

LOS ANGELES – Six different Bruins received seven honors from the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, as announced by the conference office today.

Redshirt senior attacker Maddie Musselman was named the 2022 MPSF Player of the Year and was the only Bruin named First-Team All-MPSF. Musselman became the first Bruin since Sami Hill (2014) and eighth overall to be named the Player of the Year and also became the first woman in UCLA Water Polo history to become a four-time First-Team selection.

Senior center Ava Johnson earned All-MPSF honors for the second time in her career. She was named a Second-Team All-MPSF performer after earning First-Team honors in 2021. Redshirt junior goalkeeper Georgia Phillips was named Second-Team All-MPSF for the second time in her career (2020).

Junior utility Abbi Hill garnered Honorable Mention All-MPSF accolades after being named First-Team in 2020.

Two Bruin freshmen were on the MPSF All-Newcomer Team, which included Emma Lineback and Molly Renner.

The Bruins are currently 22-3 overall and are seeded third for the upcoming 2022 MPSF Women's Water Polo Championship held this weekend at USC. UCLA take on sixth-seeded Indiana in the first round tomorrow at 12:45 p.m. PT.