Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

5 Pac-12 Men's Tennis teams selected to 2022 NCAA Championship

May 2, 2022

2022 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Five Pac-12 Men's Tennis teams were selected to the 64-team field for the 2022 NCAA Championship with Conference tournament champion USC securing hosting duties for the early rounds.

USC (21-5), which captured its third consecutive Pac-12 Tournament title last month, earned the No. 13 overall seed and will host a four-team pod of Nevada, UC Irvine and San Diego on May 6-7. The Trojans have now earned an NCAA Championship bid in 43-of-45 years since becoming a bracketed event in 1977.

Pac-12 regular-season champion ARIZONA (20-8) is headed to Chapel Hill, N.C., for No. 15 seed North Carolina’s pod, while STANFORD (17-5) will visit Cambridge, Mass., to face Mississippi State (14-12) in No. 14 seed Harvard’s pod. For the Wildcats, it is their third straight berth and 11th in program history; the Cardinal has now secured an NCAA Championship bid every year since 2008 and in 42-of-45 events.

UTAH (20-7) will head to Fort Worth, Texas for a pod hosted by No. 1 seed TCU (23-4), where the Utes will meet Ole Miss (16-12) in the first round. WASHINGTON (18-11) will head to Columbia, S.C., for a pod hosted by No. 10 seed South Carolina, where the Huskies will open against Pepperdine (17-7). It is Utah's third postseason berth in the past four events, while UW garnered its first bid since 2017.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 6-7 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to super-regional competition May 13 or 14. Each super-regional site will feature two teams playing a single-elimination format. The super-regional winners advance to the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Ill., where the eight teams will compete for the NCAA national championship May 19-22. The event will be hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.