Skip to main content

UCLA Places 11 Bruins on MPSF All-Academic Team

May 24, 2022
A total of 11 members of the UCLA women's water polo team earned MPSF All-Academic honors in 2022.

SOCIAL MEDIA: WWP on Twitter | WWP on Facebook | WWP on Instagram

LOS ANGELES – A total of 11 members of the UCLA women's water polo team earned MPSF All-Academic honors in 2022, the league announced.

The 11 Bruins on the list are highlighted by five three-time, four two-time, and two first-time honorees.

In order to qualify as an MPSF All-Academic Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must have a 3.00-or-better cumulative grade point average (GPA), be no lower than a sophomore in academic standing, have competed in at least 50 percent of the team's competitions, and have completed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the award is received.

Senior utility Katrina Drake (3.652, Orinda, Calif./Miramonte HS), senior center Ava Johnson (3.614, Walnut Creek, Calif./Las Lomas HS), redshirt senior attacker Maddie Musselman (3.374, Newport Beach, Calif./Corona del Mar HS), redshirt sophomore attacker Alex Peros (3.861, Laguna Beach, Calif./Laguna Beach HS), and senior defender Bella Wentzel (3.539, Lafayette, Calif., Acalanes HS) each earned their third-straight MPSF All-Academic selection.

Junior center Layne Anzaldo (3.536, Corona del Mar, Calif./Corona del Mar HS), junior attacker Brooke Doten (3.795, Davis, Calif./Davis Senior HS), junior utility Abbi Hill (3.777, Santa Barbara, Calif./Dos Pueblos HS), and junior attacker Hannah Palmer (3.212, Irvine, Calif./Orange Lutheran HS) each earned MPSF All-Academic honors for the second time in their careers.

The two Bruins that earned 2022 MPSF All-Academic honors for the first time in their careers include redshirt freshman attacker Claire Kronen (3.555, Santa Barbara, Calif./San Marcos HS) and sophomore attacker Anneliese Miller (3.813, Danville, Calif./Monte Vista HS).