Skip to main content

All Three UW Crews Through To NCAA A/B Semifinals

May 27, 2022

SARASOTA, Fla. – The Washington women's rowing team saw all three of its crews move directly through to the A/B semifinals Friday, winning two of three heats – while finishing second in the other – on the first day of action at the 2022 NCAA Rowing Championships at Nathan Benderson Park.
Washington was one of just five schools that finished in the top-two in each of its three heats, thus avoiding additional repechage races on Friday afternoon. The others were Texas, Stanford, Princeton and Yale. The top-two in each heat moved directly through to Saturday's A/B semifinals. The top three finishers from each A/B semifinal will advance to the grand final on Sunday.
In the first Division I race of the morning, the Huskies faced No. 1-ranked Texas, the defending champion, along with Penn, Rutgers and USC.
Washington's crew – with its lineup in tact (though re-ordered) from Pac-12 Championships – took the lead off of the starting dock, rowing past the 500- and 1,000-meter buoys in first. In the third 500, undefeated Texas moved past the Huskies and led at 1,500 meters.
However, with those two shells well ahead of the rest of the field, they both moved through to the semifinals comfortably. At the finish, Texas won the heat by about eight seats over UW, with a time of 6:08.328, to the Huskies' 6:11.256. Penn was third, more than 10 seconds behind Washington.
The Huskies' second varsity eight, seeded third overall and the top seed in its heat, won its race in wire-to-wire fashion. The UW, which has won the last four NCAA second eights grand finals, finished the course in 6:14.647, with open water back to the two crew contending for second place: Virginia and Penn. In the end, the Cavaliers edged out the Quakers by just over a tenth of a second to avoid the repechage.
Washington entered its varsity four heat as the fifth seed, one spot back of No. 4-seed Ohio State. Nonetheless, the Huskies, defending their 2021 NCAA fours title, took the lead from the very start and never relinquished it, gaining an open-water edge over the Buckeyes by the halfway mark.
The Huskies held that lead the rest of the way and won the race with a time of 6:52.822, with a full length of open water back to OSU (6:59.180).
Here is the schedule for Saturday's racing (updated at 4:30 am PT on Sat.). Semifinal times and fields will be finalized after Friday afternoon's repechage races:
9:52 a.m. ET/6:52 a.m. PT – Varsity Eight, A/B semifinal
10:12 a.m. ET/7:12 a.m. PT – Second Varsity Eight, A/B semifinals
10:52 a.m. ET/7:52 a.m. PT – Varsity Four, A/B semifinals
Varsity Eight
Shell: Dottie Simpson
Cox: Nina Castagna (Cincinnati, Ohio/Walnut Hills)
Stroke: Carmela Pappalardo (Salerno, Italy)
7: Teal Cohen (Dallas, Texas/The Hockaday School)
6: Ella Cossill (Gold Coast, Australia)
5: Holly Drapp (Tampa, Fla./Strawberry Crest)
4: Holly Dunford (Tadworth, England, U.K.)
3: Aisha Rocek (Erba, Italy)
2: Valentina Iseppi (Gardone Riviera, Italy)
Bow: McKenna Bryant (Kent, Wash./Kennedy Catholic)
Second Varsity Eight
Shell: Title IX Tenacity
Cox: Grace Murdock (Roswell, Ga./Milton)
Stroke: Carmen McNamara-Smith (Seattle, Wash./The Center School)
7: Joïe Zier (Orcas Island, Wash./Orcas Island)
6: Katherine Slack (Everett, Wash./Kamiak)
5: Angharad Broughton (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.)
4: Isabel van Opzeeland (Hoofddorp, Netherlands)
3: Nikki Martincic (Newtown, Sydney, Australia)
2: Brittani Shappell (Bellingham, Wash./Walworth Barbour)
Bow: Fiona Shields (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Bainbridge)
Varsity Four
Shell: Wendell S. Sykes
Stroke: Taylor Buell (Olympia, Wash./Capital)
3: Shakira Mirfin (Invercargill, New Zealand
2: Madi Frampton (Tumwater, Wash.)
Bow: Dimitra Tsamopoulou (Athens, Greece)
Cox: Carina Baxter (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Oak Ridge)
Laurel Safranek (Anchorage, Alaska/West Anchorage)
Abby Adebiyi (London, England, U.K.)
UW's All-Time NCAA Team Finishes
2021: 3rd
2019: 1st
2018: 2nd
2017: 1st
2016: 5th
2015: 4th
2014: 7th
2013: 6th
2012: 7th
2011: 8th
2010: 10th
2009: 7th
2008: 2nd
2007: 10th
2006: 7th
2005: 9th
2004: 5th
2003: 3rd
2002: 2nd
2001: 1st
2000: 2nd
1999: 3rd
1998: 1st
1997: 1st
UW's All-Time NCAA Boat Champions
Fours (stroke to bow, coxswain)
1999 (Erin Becht, Anna Mickelson, Kara Nykrein, Kellie Schenk, Mary Whipple)
2000 (Lauren Estevenin, Carrie Stasiak, Heidi Hurn, Adrienne Hunter, Anne Heisburg)
2001 (Margherita Pallottino, Yvonne Stenken, Kattie Baurichter, Teegan Simonson, Maili Barber)
2008 (Rachel Powers, Jennifer Park, Charlene Franklin, Adrienne Martelli, Maggie Cheek)
2017 (Valentina Iseppi, Valerie Vogt, Julia Paulsen, Sophia Baker, Marley Avritt)
2019 (Dimitra Tsamopoulou, Kieanna Stephens, Holly Drapp, Emma Vagen, Dana Brooks)*
2021 (Carmen McNamara-Smith, Fiona Shields, Katherine Slack, Sophia Chaffey, Sachi Yamamoto)
* - NCAA-record time for fours: 6:52.451
Second Eights (coxswain, stroke to bow)
2002 (Anne Hessburg, Jenni Vesnaver, Jessica Harm, Shannon Oates, Erin Becht, Sanda Hangan, Margherita Pallottino, Erin Curry, Mandy Nelson)
2017 (Isabella Corriere, Marlee Blue, Maggie Phillips, Carmela Pappalardo, Phoebe Spoors, Karlé Pittsinger, Bella Chilczuk, Anna Thornton, Calina Schanze)
2018 (Marley Avritt, Brooke Pierson, Katy Gillingham, Carmela Pappalardo, Karlé Pittsinger, Julia Paulsen, Jennifer Wren, Jessica Thoennes, Calina Schanze)
2019 (Amanda Durkin, Klara Grube, Lark Skov, Elise Bueke, Holly Dunford, Molly Gallaher, Mackenna Cameron, Skylar Jacobson, Adele Likin)*
2021 (Dana Brooks, McKenna Bryant, Dimitra Tsamopoulou, Molly Gallaher, Taylor Buell, Nikki Martincic, Lark Skov, Joïe Zier, Brittani Shappell)
* - NCAA-record time for second eights: 6:11.262
First Eights (coxswain, stroke to bow)
1997 (Alida Purves, Sabina Telenska, Denni Nessler, Kelly Horton, Katy Dunnet, Annie Christie, Jan Williamson, Tristine Glick, Kari Green)
1998 (Missy Collins, Sabina Telenska, Denni Nessler, Kelly Horton, Katy Dunnet, Annie Christie, Rachel Dunnet, Vanessa Tavalero, Kari Green)
2001 (Mary Whipple, Lauren Estevenin, Nicole Borges, Anna Mickelson, Rika Geyser, Adrienne Hunter, Carrie Stasiak, Nicole Rogers, Annabel Ritchie)
2002 (Mary Whipple, Lauren Estevenin, Annabel Ritchie, Anna Mickelson, Heidi Hurn, Adrienne Hunter, Carrie Stasiak, Kara Nykreim, Yvonneke Stenken)
2017 (Phoebe Marks-Nicholes, Chiara Ondoli, Elise Beuke, Brooke Pierson, Katy Gillingham, Brooke Mooney, Tabea Schendekehl, Jessica Thoennes, Annemieke Schanze)
2019 (Marley Avritt, Tabea Schendekehl, Calina Schanze, Sofia Asoumanaki, Marlee Blue, Teal Cohen, Valentina Iseppi, Jennifer Wren, Carmela Pappalardo)*
* - NCAA-record time for first eights: 6:07.284
All-Time NCAA Rowing Team Championships
Brown – 7
Washington – 5
California – 4
Ohio State – 3
Virginia – 2
Texas – 1
Stanford – 1
Harvard – 1
All-Time NCAA Rowing Boat (V8+, 2V8+, V4+) Championships
Washington – 18
Brown – 14
Virginia – 9
California – 7
Ohio State – 6
Yale – 4
Princeton – 3
Michigan – 2
Stanford – 2
Texas – 1
Clemson – 1
Harvard – 1
Minnesota – 1
USC – 1
UW's Pre-NCAA (NCRC) Women's National Championships
Varsity Eight*
* V8+ winner was considered "national champion" prior to introduction of NCAA regatta
Junior Varsity Eight
Varsity Four