Skip to main content

Franks, Galbraith Chosen for ITA Hall of Fame

Jul 15, 2022
Mike Franks (left), Patrick Galbraith

TEMPE, Ariz. – Former UCLA men's tennis greats Mike Franks and Patrick Galbraith were named Thursday to the 2023 ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame induction class, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced.

Franks and Galbraith will officially enter the Hall of Fame during May 2023 in Lake Nona, Fla., where the annual ITA Coaches Convention and NCAA Championships are also set to be held. The list of UCLA representatives in the Hall will grow to 24 names with their additions.

Joining Franks and Galbraith in the class are coach Peter Smith, players Bob and Mike Bryan and contributor Brian Hainline.

Franks starred for the Bruins from 1956-58, earning All-America recognition in 1957 and 1958. UCLA captured its fifth NCAA championship in 1956 under J.D. Morgan. Franks controlled the No. 1 singles spot each of his three years on the roster. He went on to reach the fourth round of the 1958 US Open singles tournament and registered third-round trips in 1956, 1957 and 1960. Franks also advanced to the third round at Wimbledon in 1957 and 1964.

Galbraith, who starred for Glenn Bassett's teams from 1986-89, won the 1988 NCAA doubles championship alongside partner Brian Garrow. The pair also won the Pac-10's crown in 1987. An All-American from 1987-89, Galbraith put together a 74-23 singles record and a 58-16 doubles mark. An ATP top-20 doubles player from 1991-98, he rose to No. 1 in 1993. Galbraith collected the US Open mixed doubles title with Elna Reinach in 1994 and Lisa Raymond in 1996. He twice made the Wimbledon men's doubles final, in 1993 and 1994. Galbraith went on hold the positions of chairman of the board and president of the USTA from 2019-2020.

Franks and Galbraith follow Bruins Roy Barth (inducted in 2019), Marcel Freeman (2011), Brad Pearce (2009), Jim Pugh (2008), Jeff Borowiak (2006), Ferdi Taygan (2006), Larry Nagler (2004), Brian Teacher (2001), Peter Fleming (1998), Ian Crookenden (1997), Bob Perry (1997), Billy Martin (1996), Bassett (1993), Frank Stewart (1992), Jack Tidball (1992), Allen Fox (1988), Herb Flam (1987), Charles Pasarell (1987), Jimmy Connors (1986), Bill Ackerman (1984), Arthur Ashe (1983) and J.D. Morgan (1983) into the ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame.