Skip to main content

20 Bears Collect ACWPC All-Academic Awards

Jul 20, 2022
Twenty Bears were named to the 2022 ACWPC All-Academic Team.

BERKELEY – The California women's water polo team displayed its prowess in the classroom once again when 20 Golden Bears claimed 2022 ACWPC All-Academic Awards, surpassing last season's total of 17 and giving Cal double-digit honorees for the seventh time in eight seasons.
Rising senior Sydney Hammill led the way for the Bears with her third selection to the outstanding category, which honors student-athletes with grade-point averages of 3.71 or above. Joining Hammill with outstanding accolades are rising junior Ruby Swadling, an All-America honorable mention who collected her second straight ACWPC academic award, rising sophomore Rozanne Voorvelt – who with Kitty Lynn Joustra led the Netherlands to third place in the World Championships earlier in July – and rising senior Cecily Turner, who notched her second overall ACWPC academic award.
Joustra, a recent graduate, Olympian and second-team All-American, garnered ACWPC All-Academic superior status for the fourth time. Eight teammates – Cynthia Mulder, who notched her third superior award, Carson Broad and Olympian and first-team All-American Emma Wright, who capped off their Cal careers in 2022; rising seniors Isabel Williams, a first-team All-American, and Helena Batey; rising juniors Maddie DeMattia and Mara Loughlin; and rising sophomore Emma Singer – also earned superior honors, given to those with GPAs between 3.41-3.70.
Seven Bears collected ACWPC All-Academic status in the excellent category – for those with GPAs between 3.20-3.40 – including 2022 graduate Elli Protopapas; rising senior Shea Salvino; rising juniors Mallory Reynoso, Maryn Dempsey and Megan Musick; and rising sophomores Alex Higginson and Jessie Rose, who along with Voorvelt was named to the All-MPS Newcomer Team.