Skip to main content

Preston Summerhays Nominated to Haskins Preseason List

Aug 30, 2022

Columbus, GA. Sun Devil sophomore Preston Summerhays has been named to the 2023 Haskins Award Preseason List announced by Golf Channel. Summerhays is coming off a year where he had eight top-10 finishes in 13 tournaments.

The Fred Haskins Award, which has been awarded since 1970, is the oldest individual college golf award is given to the most outstanding player in NCAA Men's Golf. Oklahoma's Chris Gotterup received the award in 2022.

The award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 32 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Recipients include Tiger Woods, Sun Devil Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas.

Summerhays earned Pac-12 Freshman of the Year after achieving a 71.33 stroke average, second-best as a freshmen in ASU History. He achieved one of the most convincing and impressive NCAA match play wins in history with a 7 & 5 win over the 2022 Haskins Award winner Gotterup in the quarterfinals.

The Scottsdale native achieved 11 rounds in the 60's and 21 rounds of par or better in his first season with the Sun Devils, whilse leading the team to the NCAA finals at Grayhawk after defeating Joe Highsmith in a 2-UP victory in the NCAA semifinals in May. He is one of two golfers from a Pac-12 school to be on the list along with Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford.

ASU will look to get back to Grayhawk when their 2022-2023 season begins Sept. 9-11 competing in the Maui Jim Invitational at Mirabel Golf Club in Scottsdale.

Preseason Haskins Award Watch List 

 Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
Fred Biondi, Florida
Michael Brennan, Wake Forest
Ben Carr, Georgia Southern
Ricky Castillo, Florida
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas
David Ford, North Carolina
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
Dylan Menante, North Carolina
William Mouw, Pepperdine
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Brian Stark, Oklahoma State
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Hugo Townsend, Ole Miss
Travis Vick, Texas
Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
Jiri Zuska, Louisville