Skip to main content

Cal Opens Season With BITB Qualifier

Sep 16, 2022
Top-seeded Derrick Chen reached the singles quarterfinals on Friday at Hellman.

BERKELEY – Golden Bears Derrick Chen and Lucas Magnaudet advanced to the singles quarterfinals of the Battle in the Bay Qualifier on Friday, as the Cal men's tennis team began the 2022-23 season as the host of the tournament at the Hellman Tennis Complex.
Two singles players and one doubles pair will advance from the qualifier to the Battle in the Bay tournament, which is scheduled for Sept. 23-25 at the California Tennis Club in San Francisco.
Chen, a sophomore, and Magnaudet, a junior, had byes in the first round of main draw singles. In the second round/round of 16, the top-seeded Chen defeated Stanford's Isaac Gorelik, 6-3, 6-3, while the third-seeded Magnaudet bested San Diego State's Chikaya Sato, 6-1, 6-3.
In the one round of main draw doubles played on Friday, Magnaudet and Cal sophomore Alex Chang edged the Cardinal's Gorelik and Neel Rajseh, 8-7(3), while Cal sophomore Mikey Wright teamed with Andrei Volgin of UC Davis to knock off San Francisco's Moritz Hoffmann and Johan Garpered. The Cal pair of Chen and freshman John Kim – seeded second – had a bye.
The Battle in the Bay Qualifier continues on Saturday, with matches starting at 9 a.m. at the Hellman Tennis Complex. The day will start with two rounds of doubles followed by one round of singles.
Battle in the Bay Qualifier
Sept. 16, 2022, in Berkeley, Calif.
Hellman Tennis Complex
Main Draw
Round of 16
(1) Seeman/Gonzalez (SDSU), Bye
(2) Chen/Kim (Cal), Bye
Magnaudet/Chang (Cal) def. Rajesh/Gorelik (Stanford), 8-7(3)
(4) Verboven/Dabic (UNLV) def. Kuraica/Kalenic (USF), 8-1
Maxant/Watt (SMC) def. Lam/Hall (UCSC), 8-3
Wright (Cal)/Volgin (UC Davis) def. Hoffmann/Garpered (USF), 8-5
(3) Sengul/Sato (SDSU) def. Atherton/Ornberg (UNLV), 8-4
Bailey/Rsovac (UNLV) def. Mardirossian/Tjoa (UCSC), 8-4
Main Draw
Round of 32
(1) Derrick Chen (Cal), Bye
(2) Luka Kalenic, (USF), Bye
(3) Lucas Magnaudet (Cal), Bye 
Isaac Gorelik (Stanford) def. Eugenio Gonzalez Fitzmaurice (SDSU), 6-0, 6-4
(8) James Watt (SMC) def. Johan Garpered (USF), 6-3, 6-1
Dusan Rsovac (UNLV) def. Sam Hall (UCSC), 6-4, 6-2
(5) Johannes Seeman (SDSU) def. Jackson Atherton (UNLV), 6-1, 6-0
Chikaya Sato (SDSU) def. Moritz Hoffmann (USF), 6-1, 6-2
Anton Ornberg (UNLV) def. Bora Sengul (SDSU), 7-6(4), 6-3
(4) Andrei Volgin (UC Davis) def. Andrew Tjoa (UCSC), 6-3, 6-1
Alex Chang (Cal) def. Milos Dabic (UNLV), 6-1, 6-3
Thibaud Maxant (SMC) def. Nikola Kuraica (USF), 3-6, 7-6(13), 6-3
John Kim (Cal) def. Sumir Srivastava (SMC), 6-2, 6-1
(6) Maxim Verboven (UNLV) def. Ryan Lam (UCSC), 6-2, 6-0
Andre Mardirossian (UC Santa Cruz) def. Mikey Wright (Cal), 7-6(5), 6-3
(7) Neel Rajesh (Stanford) def. Aaron Bailey (UNLV), 6-1, 6-2
Round of 16
(1) Derrick Chen (Cal) vs Isaac Gorelik (Stanford), 6-3, 6-3
(8) James Watt (SMC) def. Dusan Rsovac (UNLV), 6-1, 6-3
(3) Lucas Magnaudet (Cal) def. Chikaya Sato (SDSU), 6-1, 6-3 
(4) Andrei Volgin (UC Davis) def. Alex Chang (Cal), 7-6(4), 6-7(3), 6-3
(5) Johannes Seeman (SDSU) def. Thibaud Maxant (SMC), 4-6, 6-4, 6-4
(7) Neel Rajesh (Stanford) def. Andre Mardirossian (UCSC), 6-1, 6-1
(6) Maxim Verboven (UNLV) def. John Kim (Cal), 7-5, 6-7(3), 6-1
Anton Ornberg (UNLV) def. Luka Kalenic (USF), 6-4, 6-3
 Johan Garpered (USF) def. Sam Hall (UCSC), 6-3, 1-6, 10-8
Jackson Atherton (UNLV) def. Nikola Kuraica (USF), 6-2, 6-4
Ryan Lam (UCSC) def. Sumir Srivastava (SMC), 6-1, 6-3
Aaron Bailey (UNLV) def. Mikey Wright (Cal), w/o
Milos Dabic (UNLV) def. Andrew Tjoa (UCSC), 6-0, 6-2
Eugenio Gonzalez Fizmaurice (SDSU) def. Moritz Hoffmann (USF), 6-4, 1-0 (ret.)
Bora Sengul (SDSU) def. Luka Kalenic (USF), 6-4, 6-4