Skip to main content

Cross Country Season Continues at Home with Dave Murray Invitational

Sep 28, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – The University of Arizona Cross Country team will compete in its only home meet of the season at the Dave Murray Invitational on Friday, Sept. 30.

The event will start at 7:00 a.m. MST at the Tucson Country Club with the women's 6k. They will be followed by the men's 8k at 7:45 a.m. MST and live results for both events can be found here.

This will be the team's third competition of the season and follows the women's win and men's sixth place finish at the UC Riverside Invitational. Grace Driskill led the effort for the women with her 10th place overall finish in the 6k. Driskill has finished first for the women's side in both of their meets so far this season. Erika Cunniam also finished 14th overall to help propel the women to victory.

The men's team was led by freshmen Ian Sanchez Lopez, who finished seventh overall, and Iker Sanchez Lopez, who finished 15th overall, in their first collegiate 8k. Cooper Quigley recorded the third-fastest time on the team in the UCR Invitational, after recording the fastest time on the men's team in the George Kyte Invitational to open the season.

"The Arizona Cross Country team is excited to host our home meet at the Tucson Country Club," said Head Coach Bernard Lagat. "The ladies are coming off a win and will be looking to defend the title that they won last year at the Dave Murray Invite. The men's team has been building from their past two races and are hungry to win at home," said Lagat. "The course will be fast, and we can't wait to start our new chapter with our new home course. We would love all our Wildcat Fans to come out and support the team in our only home meet of the year."

The women's team won last year's Dave Murray Invitational, while the men's side placed third.

A meeting recap will be posted to detailing the competition results. Live updates will also be posted to @ArizonaTrack on Twitter.

Brandon Bounds
Brennan Foody
Noah Jodon
Parker Lehmann
Logan Marek
Cooper Quigley
Cade Russo
Ian Sanchez Lopez
Iker Sanchez Lopez
Ayden Schilb
Jeffrey Sillers

Mia Chavez
Erika Cunniam
Grace Driskill
Brigid Hanley
Peyton Heiden
Beatrice Honebrink
Tenley Hughes
Sailor Hutton
Meggie Karp
Alisa Lyesina
Kara Mickelson
Johnnie Mitchell
Fans can keep up with the latest in Arizona Track and Field by following us on Facebook (, Twitter (@ArizonaTrack), Instagram (arizonatrack), and YouTube ( accounts.