Skip to main content

Ducks Post Top-12 Finishes at Nuttycombe

Oct 14, 2022

MADISON, Wis. – The No. 21 Oregon women's cross country team finished in 11th place Friday at the Nuttycombe Invitational in Madison, Wis. With their collective performance, the UO women collected seven head-to-head wins over teams ahead of them in the national rankings.
The loaded field at the Nuttycombe meet featured 43 teams—24 women, 19 men—ranked among the top 30 in the country.
Individually, the Ducks were led by a trio of top-60 marks in Izzy Thornton-Bott in 24th overall and Emilie Girard and Maddy Elmore in 53rd and 59th places, respectively. Thornton-Bott crossed the finish line in a time of 20:18.0 as Oregon's top performer. Girard was also second in the lineup at the Dellinger meet in September.
In the final race of the day, the No. 24 Men of Oregon ran to a 12th-place finish Friday afternoon. Paced by returning All-American Aaron Bienenfeld, the Ducks picked up wins over six teams ahead of them in the most recent USTFCCCA poll including a pair of top-10 squads.
Bienenfeld matched Thornton-Bott's finish, crossing in 24th place overall in a time of 23:30.8 over the 8K course. In a 35-spot improvement from last season's Nuttycombe, Abdinasir Hussein (23:56.7) finished in 75th place as the Ducks' second runner in the lineup. The UO top three was rounded out by Cameron Stein in 24:00.5, just ahead of teammate Giuliano Scasso.
2022 Nuttycombe Invitational | Madison, Wis.
11. Women of Oregon – 363
                24. Izzy Thornton-Bott – 20:18.0
                53. Emilie Girard – 20:33.1
                59. Maddy Elmore – 20:35.4
                113. Malia Pivec – 20:57.9
                114. Harper McClain – 20:58.1
                129. Klaudia Kazimierska – 21:03.0
                151. Melissa Berry – 21:13.3
                159. Nicole Louw – 21:17.4
'B' Race
57. Kendall Martin – 22:09.3
12. Men of Oregon – 368
                24. Aaron Bienenfeld – 23:30.8
                75. Abdinasir Hussein – 23:56.7
                87. Cameron Stein – 24:00.5
                89. Giuliano Scasso – 24:00.8
                94. Quincy Norman – 24:02.3
                131. Josh Edwards – 24:15.4
                169. Caleb Brown – 24:32.9
                236. James Gormley – 26:25.0
'B' Race
33. Alex Slenning – 24:38.4
The 2022 postseason starts in two weeks with the Pac-12 Championships in Riverside, Calif. The meet will be televised on the Pac-12 Network.
For more news and information about Oregon cross country and track and field, follow @OregonTF on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.