Skip to main content

Gueye Named to Pac-12 Preseason All-Conference First Team

Oct 24, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO – Washington State men's basketball sophomore Mouhamed Gueye was named to the 2022-23 Pac-12 Men's Basketball Preseason All-Conference First Team, the conference announced Monday. Gueye is one of 10 student-athletes named to the First Team, based on voting by media members who cover the league.
A member of the 2021-22 Pac-12 All-Freshman Team, Gueye established himself as an elite rebounding presence, earning five Pac-12 Freshman of the Week honors. The 6-11 forward posted a team-best three double-doubles last year, including his first Pac-12 double-double with 16 points and 11 rebounds against Stanford, Jan. 13. Over the season, Gueye averaged 7.4 points and 5.2 rebounds per game. He also tallied 33 blocks, 4th all-time by a WSU freshman, and pulled in 181 rebounds, 5th all-time by a Coug freshman.
Gueye's selection marks the second consecutive season with a Coug on the preseason first team. Last year, Noah Williams earned preseason first-team honors, and in 2019, CJ Elleby earned the honor in its inaugural edition.
The Cougars' 2021-22 season led them to Madison Square Garden and the NIT semifinals for the first time since 2010-11. Wazzu finished with a 22-15 record, breaking the program record with 37 games on the season. The Cougs' 22 wins matched the highest total since the 2010-11 team, led by Klay Thompson.
Washington State begins the 2022-23 campaign at home against Texas State, Monday, Nov. 7, in a double-header action with the women's team. The men tip off the season at 4:30 p.m. on the Pac-12 Network.

2022-23 Pac-12 Men's Basketball Preseason All-Conference Team

First Team
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Branden Carlson, Utah
Boogie Ellis, USC
Mouhamed Gueye, Washington State
Harrison Ingram, Stanford
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Spencer Jones, Stanford
Drew Peterson, USC
Will Richardson, Oregon
Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona
Second Team
Marcus Bagley, Arizona State
Tristan da Silva, Colorado
DJ Horne, Arizona State
Kerr Kriisa, Arizona
Pelle Larsson, Arizona
Honorable Mention (at least 8 media member votes)
Amari Bailey, UCLA
Oumar Ballo, Arizona
Jaylen Clark, UCLA
Quincy Guerrier, Oregon
K.J. Simpson, Colorado
Kel'el Ware, Oregon